Tuivasa-Sheck creates history for Warriors

Roger Tuivasa Sheck is the first Warriors player to win the award. Picture: SUPPLIED/NRL

ROGER Tuivasa-Sheck has created history to become the first Warriors player to take out the Dally M Medal.

In an incredibly close voting finish – reminiscent of this year’s top eight teams – Tuivasa-Sheck edged out Newcastle young gun Kalyn Ponga and Cronulla’s Valentine Holmes to claim the honour.

The Warriors skipper polled 29 points, with just four separating the top four players.

West Tigers halfback Luke Brooks and Knights playmaker Mitchell Pearce were other players to make up the top five.

Tuivasa-Sheck also became the third Kiwis player behind Jason Taumalolo (2016) and Gary Freeman (1992) to win the award.

Tuivasa-Sheck returned to form in a big way in 2018 and was a reason behind the Warriors’ push to their first finals berth since 2011.

The New Zealand Test star consistently churned out the yardage for his side – particularly when they were trapped down their own end – and by the end of the season, he’d amassed 3842 run metres, the fifth most in the NRL.

His ball playing was sound, setting up 10 tries and 10 linebreaks, while he made 92 tackle busts, the most since his final season at the Sydney Roosters.

The full list of winners:

Dally M Player of the Year: Roger Tuivasa-Sheck (Warriors)

Captain of the Year: Cameron Smith (Melbourne Storm)

Coach of the Year: Anthony Seibold (South Sydney Rabbitohs)

Peter Moore Award for Rookie of the Year: Jamayne Isaako (Brisbane Broncos)

Fullback of the Year: Roger Tuivasa-Sheck (Warriors)

Winger of the Year: Blake Ferguson (Sydney Roosters)

Centre of the Year: Joseph Leilua (Canberra Raiders)

Five-eighth of the Year: Cameron Munster (Melbourne Storm)

Halfback of the Year: Luke Brooks (Wests Tigers)

Lock of the Year: Jason Taumalolo (North Queensland Cowboys)

Second-rower of the Year: Josh Jackson (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)

Prop of the Year: Andrew Fifita (Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks)

Hooker of the Year: Damien Cook (South Sydney Rabbitohs)

Interchange Player of the Year: Jazz Tevaga (Warriors)

Top Points Scorer: Jamayne Isaako (Brisbane Broncos)

Top Try Scorer: David Fusitu’a (Warriors)

Provan Summons People’s Choice Medal: Damien Cook (South Sydney Rabbitohs)

Female Player of the Year: Brittany Breayley (Brisbane Broncos)

Peter Frilingos Headline Moment: Holden Women’s State of Origin

Ken Stephen Medal: Ryan James (Gold Coast Titans)

More Stories