Tourism excellence awards to encourage transformation

ANZ country head for Fiji Saud Minam. Picture: FT FILE

THIS year’s Fiji Excellence in Tourism Awards, which recognises the immense contribution of the tourism industry in Fiji, has been launched.

ANZ FETA promotes excellence by bringing together industry members to recognise and celebrate achievements within the tourism sector.

According to awards chairman Bill Whiting, this season encourages and recognises hotels and tourism operators who are lifting the customer service standards by providing ongoing training for staff and transforming their service standards.

“Our competitive advantage against other tourism destinations is our people and ANZ FETA wants to encourage the tourism industry to continue to lift the bar of service excellence,” Mr Whiting said in a statement.

“Fiji remains the destination of choice through our renowned hospitality. How we continue to provide this excellent service is the challenge.”

Major sponsor ANZ Fiji country head Saud Minam said they were committed to supporting tourism in Fiji with their recommitment to once again present the ANZ Fiji Excellence in Tourism Awards (FETA) this year.

“Our recent Fiji Economic Outlook report showed the strength of the tourism sector has a multiplier effect on growth across the economy,” Mr Minam stated.

“A number of key industries, including wholesale and retail trade, transport and accommodation and food services, depend on inbound tourists.

“As tourism demand and revenue grows, facilities will improve and capacity will need to increase to cater for demand. There’s already a healthy pipeline of tourism-related projects due for roll out or completion over the next two years.”

The ANZ Fiji Excellence in Tourism Award is recognised as a mark of excellence in Fiji’s tourism and promotes excellence in tourism.

The ANZ Fiji Excellence in Tourism awards is run annually by a voluntary committee of industry members, overseen by the board of trustees to invite entries, organise judging and hold a gala event for the prize giving to honor those outstanding members in the local tourism industry.