Top three MOG officials revealed

The Co chairs of the Multinational Observer Group, from left to right--Mrs Jane Prentice, Mr Mukesh Chandra Sahu and Mr Wajid Fauzi.licture: SUPPLIED

THE three co-chairs of the Multinational Observer Group’s (MOG) are expected to arrive soon the

following revelations of their identities today.

They  are; Australian member of parliament,  Jane Prentice, Indian chief electoral officer of the state of Assam, Mukesh Chandra Sahu, and special advisor on management affairs to Indonesia’s Foreign Minister, Wajid Fauzi.(Indonesia).

The MOG’s observer coordinator Alice Cawte  welcomed the announcements.

“All three co-chairs are each eminently qualified to perform their roles,” said Ms Cawte.

“We look forward to welcoming the co-chairs over the next couple of days, and we will ensure they have the opportunity to introduce themselves to the people of Fiji ahead of the election.”

A statement from the MOG described Mrs Prentice as a Member of the House of Representatives in the Parliament of Australia and an experienced former minister.

She has a strong history of supporting democracy internationally, including in the Pacific, and is also the chair of the Australia-Pacific Parliamentary Network.

Mr Sahu had previously served in other senior positions in the Government of Assam, including Commissioner and Secretary of the IT Department and Secretary of the Election Department.

He had also previously served as Principal Secretary of the Bodoland Territorial Council in Assam.

Mr Fauzi  was formerly the Indonesian Ambassador to Yemen. And is also chairman of Indonesian Elections Committee of Overseas Voters.

In this role, he is responsible for administering Indonesia’s overseas voters’ registration and overseas voting process.

Meanwhile the team of three are responsible for the overall management and coordination of the MOG and are independent of their respective governments during the terms of their deployments.

The co-chairs will also be responsible for delivering the MOG’s interim media statement that follows the election

More Stories