Suva holds Nadi

NEWLY appointed Suva football coach Tuka Tisam wants his team to qualify for the 2019 OFC Champions League.

He revealed his plan after his side drew nil-all against Nadi in their 2018 Vodafone Premier League match at Ratu Cakobau Park in Nausori on Saturday.

Suva was reduced to 10-man after referee Veer Singh gave a direct red card to Suva’s Savenaca Nakalevu for an off the ball incident with Nadi’s Rupeni Rabici. Rabici had tried to elbow Nakalevu and in return the former Rewa player threw a punch at Rabici who also received a yellow card.

Suva goalkeeper Simione Tamanisau was booked by Singh after he fouled Nadi striker Napolioni Qasevakatini inside the penalty box and Nadi was awarded the penalty, however, Josefata Dugucagi’s shot fired the wrong way.

“It was a good start for me with the boys against Nadi apart from the red card, but that is football and I am looking forward to the next match,” Tisam said.

“We had created a lot of chances but at the end we needed goals. We will go back to the drawing board and figure out how we are going to work and improve as a team.”

Tisam, who was appointed as the head coach last week by the Suva Football Association management said he was coaching a quality team.

“Our objective is to get to the OFC Champions League and that is what we are going to work on as other teams are also working to qualify for the OFC Champions League,” he said.

“We have quality players in the team.”

Nadi coach Babs Khan said his players tried their best, but could not score any goals.

Suva team: Simione Tamanisau, Epeli Leiroti, Remueru Takiate, Waisake Navunigasau, Sakaraia Naisua, Madhwan Goundar, Tevita Waranivalu, Ravnesh Karan Singh, Ivan Kumar, Savenaca Nakalevu

Reserves: Emori Ragata, Menon Ram, Simione Damuni, Kaliova Tivulu, Tomasi Ucaloa

Nadi team: Vereti Dickson, Ilimotama Jese, Ame Votoniu, Napolioni Qasevakatini,Patrick Neel Joseph, Alfroz Ali, Rupeni Rabici, Andrew Naicker, Josefata Dugucagi, Mosese Balenagaga, William Valentine

Reserves: Samuela Tamanisau, Zainal Ali, Marika Rawasoi, Rusiate Matarerega, Christopher Kumar.

More Stories