State identifies 5 schools to remain closed

GOVERNMENT has identified five schools in the North that would remain closed.

Commissioner Northern Jovesa Vocea said the four schools were in Bua and one in Naweni, Cakaudrove.

At a Government briefing yesterday, Ministry of Education officials informed the meeting that assessment and inspection of schools were still being carried out on Taveuni and other affected areas of Cakaudrove.

The officials also told the meeting that some schools were being used as evacuation centres.

But Mr Vocea said tents and tarpaulins would be given to affected schools to help them start off with classes.

“We have not determined the remaining schools that have been affected on Taveuni. But we have identified Naweni Primary School in Cakaudrove,” he said.

“In Bua the schools are Vuya, Nadi, Baravi and Kubulau district schools.

“We have also sent out the military engineers to the affected schools to carry out their inspection and even start repairing as well.”

Mr Vocea said the engineers were not able to travel to Bua earlier this week because of accessibility problems.

“Now that the roads have been cleared, it will be no problem and our teams are now reaching out to affected areas,” he said.

“The damage assessment teams are continuing with their work. We have 37 personnel on Taveuni, 11 teams in Cakaudrove and eight teams in Bua.

“Most of the roads are now cleared and accessible. The FRA is also working on the road at Lomaloma following a crack to the side of the road.”

Mr Vocea said they would closely monitor the road condition in Lomaloma.

More Stories