Sogavare sworn-in as new PM, ministers to be named at end of week

Manasseh Sogavare has been sworn-in as Solomon Islands new Prime Minister. Picture: RNZ

HONIARA, 25 APRIL 2019 (ISLAND SUN) – Manasseh Sogavare has been sworn-in as Solomon Islands new Prime Minister by the Governor General Sir Frank Kabui at Government House immediately after his election by Members of Parliament Wednesday.

Sogavare was voted into office at Parliament House, polling 34 votes over his rival Matthew Wale in the 50 seat Parliament.

This will be Sogavare’s fourth Prime Ministership, his previous stints being in 2000, 2006 and most recently in 2014.

Sogavare served in the National Parliament as Member for East Choiseul beginning in 1997.

Meanwhile, the Democratic Coalition Government for Advancement (DCGA) expects to come up with their line-up of ministers and backbenchers by end of the week.

Prime Minister elect, Manasseh Sogavare confirmed to media in his first press conference in Parliament Wednesday.

Sogavare said that’s the most important thing they will immediately move into it now.

“Now we are a coalition of four political parties.

“I will hold talks with the political parties’ leaders,” he said.

“I think they held their small meetings and make preferences.

“At the end of the day they give them to me and I will massage them through the four political parties,” he said.

The four political parties in the DCGA are Our Party, Democratic Alliance Party and Solomon Islands Peoples First Party plus Peoples Alliance Party which their members have joined Our Party.


More Stories