SODELPA confirms 46 proposed candidates for 2018 polls

SODELPA leader Sitiveni Rabuka meets party members during the AGM in Lautoka today. Picture: SHAYAL DEVI

THE Social Democratic Liberal Party has confirmed 46 proposed candidates for the 2018 General Elections.

Among them are party leader Sitiveni Rabuka and Leader of the Opposition Ro Teimumu Kepa.

SODELPA also elected lawyer Vijay Singh as one of the three vice-presidents.

Ro Dona Takalaiyale and Anare Jale have taken up the remaining two vice-president slots.

Mr Singh is he was not contesting the election.

“SODELPA is a multiracial party and we are trying to bring people, more faces in the hierarchy,” he said.

Party leader Sitiveni Rabuka said Mr Singh had to clarify some of the regulations and notify SODELPA that he had resigned from the People’s Democratic Party (PDP).

“His membership was regularised, the appointment had to be formalised in an AGM and that was done today (yesterday),” he said.

“It is very symbolic, with our first multi-ethic office holder as an office holder and also underlines the move that the Opposition Leader made a few short years ago in embracing the descendants of indentured labourers, calling them Luvendra na Ratu and including them into the society and community.

“Today was another move in the right direction and as far as SODELPA is concerned, it also gives us credence in our claim that we are not a racist iTaukei party. We are embracing all races.”

The proposed candidate list includes Jese Saukuru, Nacanieli Waka, Meretui Ratunabuabua, Pauliasi Matawalu, Mitieli Bulanauca, Ratu Atonio Lalabalavu, Niko Nawaikula, Simione Rasova, Mere Samisoni, Anare Jale, Inia Qereqeretabua, Peceli Volanibola, Ratu Tevita Niumataiwalu, Nemani Bulitavu, Adi Narayan, George Shiu Raj, Ezekiel Sharma, Arvind Deo Singh, Jone Kata, Inosi Kuridrani, Viliame Gavoka, Aseri Radrodro, Peceli Rinakama, Ro Kiniviliame Kiliraki, Ratu Suliano Matanitobua, Jope Koroisavou, Ropate Ligairi, Salote Radrodro, Berenado Daveta, Pio Tabaiwalu, Kitione Vuetaki, Daniel Urai, Anare Vadei, Lynda Tabuya, Jiosefa Dulakiverata, Simione Drole, Uraia Salababa, Malakai Nalawa, Ro Teimumu Kepa, Mikaele Leawere, Semesa Karavaki, Tanya Waqanika, Adi Litia Qionibaravi, Ratu Jone Seniloli, Ratu Isoa Tikoca and party leader Sitiveni Rabuka.