Seven election observers here

Fiji's Supervisor of Elections Mohammed Saneem with international observers. Picture SUPPLIED/Fijian Elections Office

SEVEN Australian election observers have been accredited by the Fijian Elections Office (FEO) for next month’s general election. The seven will be part of the Multi-National Observer Group for the 2018 General Election.

Seema Chandra and Daniel Kark were accredited last week. In a statement yesterday, the FEO confirmed the accreditation of Australian MOG team lead by Alice Cawte along with Genevieve Richards, Andrew Elborn, Priya Sivakumaran and Toby Sharpe.

Supervisor of Elections Mohammed Saneem said more observers would arrive into the country soon.

He earlier said that the FEO looked forward to the observer missions activity in observing this year’s election and they were also prepared to provide all the necessary information and support they would require to fulfil their mission.

The 2018 General Election will be held on November 14, 2018 from 7.30am to 6pm after the Writ for Election was issued yesterday by the President.

Early last month, Government set out the terms of reference (TOR) for the MOG, with minister responsible for Elections Aiyaz Sayed-Khaiyum saying the TOR would allow the group to observe and evaluate the functions and operations of the Fijian Elections Office (FEO) for the 2018 General Election and also the other processes involved in the lead-up, during and after the polls. Australia, Indonesia and India will co-lead the MOG for the coming polls.

More Stories