Seruvakula opts for depth against the Aussies

Serupepeli Vularika of Fiji Airways Drua attacks against Melbourne Rising during their clash at Ratu Cakobau Park. Fiji Airways Drua won 40-17. Picture: RAMA/FILE

FIJI Airways Drua coach Senirusi Seruvakula is sticking to the adage that modern rugby is like a chess game.

The former Fiji Warriors coach and Naitasiri rugby rep has started playing mind games against his Queensland Country counterpart Rob Seib.

Seib, 43, is an Australian professional coach, a former Queensland Reds, Glasgow Warriors and Australia 7s rep.

Tomorrow’s match is not only about Fiji vs Australia, but being amateur against being a professional coach.

The Fijian mentor has opted for depth to counter the Aussie experience and versatility to adapt any style of play thrown at our boys in their first home away game this season. Seruvakula has made four changes from the team that beat Brisbane City in Lautoka last weekend.

In comes Filimoni Seru replacing Peni Naulago at lock.

Those who will get a run tomorrow after being rested are Jona Sawailau who will start at outside centre, Veremalua Vugakoto at hooker, and winger Avete Daveta, who returns from injury.

“We are confident that we have a squad of first choice players,” said Seruvakula.

The Drua will meet Queensland Country at BB Print Stadium in Mackay, Queensland, at 3pm (Fiji time) tomorrow.

“The boys who come in and out of the starting line or the bench, they know the roles they have to play. I know they will do it well.

“Scrum-half Peni Matawalu will make his debut off the bench after returning from an ankle injury.

“Peni comes in with a similiar game style to Frank Lomani, who has had two great matches, and has played over 70 minutes in each match, so it will be good to give him some relief.”

Lomani maintains his starting position at the halves after stellar performances against Melbourne Rising and Brisbane City.

Fiji Airways Drua team to play Queensland Country: 1. Joeli Veitayaki, 2. Ratu Veremalua Vugakoto, 3. Mosese Ducivaki, 4. Filimoni Seru, 5. Albert Tuisue, 6. Peni Raidre, 7. Mosese Voka, 8. Eremasi Radrodro, 9. Frank Lomani, 10. Alivereti Veitokani, 11. Levani Kurumudu, 12. Cyril Reece, 13. Jona Sowailau, 14. Apete Daveta, 15. Apisalome Waqatabu. Reserves: 16. Ratunaisa Navuma, 17. Eroni Mawi, 18. Luke Tagi, 19. Tevita Naqali, 20. Jonny Dyer, 21. Peni Matawalu, 22. Serupepeli Vularika, 23. Aporosa Tabulawaki.

More Stories