Physics Nobel for laser pioneers includes first woman in 55 years

A combination picture shows the Nobel Prize for Physics 2018 award winners (L-R) Arthur Ashkin of the U.S., Gerard Mourou of France and Donna Strickland of Canada, October 2, 2018. REUTERS/Brendan McDermid/Charles Platiau/Peter Power

STOCKHOLM/LONDON (Reuters) – A trio of American, French and Canadian scientists won the 2018 Nobel Prize for Physics on Tuesday for breakthroughs in laser technology that have turned light beams into precision tools for everything from eye surgery to micro-machining. They include the first female physics prize winner in 55 years. Canada‚Äôs Donna Strickland, of […]

Continue reading this article with a Fiji Times online membership.

More Stories