New Zealand 7s teams pull out of Spain events

The New Zealand All Blacks celebrates after winning their first Dubai 7s title in 2018. The side, together with its women's team have pulled out of the Spain leg scheduled for later this month. Picture: World Rugby HSBC Sevens Series

The New Zealand men’s and women’s 7s teams have pulled out of the Spain leg of the World Sevens Series.

According to World Rugby this is due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, as both New Zealand teams are unable to travel to Spain for the Malaga and Seville events and will be replaced by Germany and Belgium, respectively.

Meanwhile, the Fiji men’s side is pooled with England, South Africa and Scotland for next weekend’s Malaga 7s.

The Fijiana side is pooled with Poland, USA and Canada.


HSBC Spain Sevens, Malaga pools


Pool A: Spain, Australia, Ireland, Belgium
Pool B: USA, Canada, Fiji, Poland
Pool C: Russia, Brazil, France, England


Pool A: England, Fiji, South Africa, Scotland
Pool B: Australia, Germany, Ireland, Japan
Pool C: USA, Spain, Samoa, Argentina
Pool D: Kenya, Canada, France, Wales



More Stories