Naiqama announces 25-member extended Kaiviti Silktails squad

Kaiviti Silktail players train in Suva yesterday. Picture: SOPHIE RALULU

Tomasi Seru is highly tipped to get his Kaiviti Silktails debut in the New South Wales Rugby League Ron Massey Cup after being named in the 23-member extended squad to face the Penrith Brothers in Sydney tomorrow.

The former Queen Victoria School headboy was spotted running at centre during a training session in Suva this week.

Club captain Rusiate Baleitamavua will be assisted ably by senior players Osea Natoga, Makrau Fonumanu and Simone Cakauniqio.

The current squad has only nine members that represented the Silktails during the 2022 NSWL – Ron Massey Cup Season.

The team arrived in Sydney on Thursday ahead of their clash at the New Era Stadium.

On Wednesday, the side presented their i-tatau to President Ratu Wiliame Katonivere at the State House.

Ratu Wiliame called on the players to have faith as the Silktails would be their stepping stone to bigger things in the sport.

“In life, we start small and the Silktails is where you start. This is where you will be recognised and no matter how far you go, we will always know you as a product of the Silktails,” said Ratu Wiliame.

He also reminded the players to seek the advice of their coaches and managers.

“For you to reach the higher echelons of rugby league, you must take the Silktails to that level and it comes down to your faith in each other,” Ratu Wiliame said.

“Focus on your games and make all of us proud.

“Make your parents proud and go beyond the semi-finals, which you narrowly missed last year on points differential.”

He told the players to make use of the abundant knowledge of their head coach and former Fiji Bati captain Wes Naiqama.

25-member squad:

Osea Natoga, Eparama Veivuke, Tomasi Seru, Sunia Naruma, Tui Jennings, Rusiate Baleitamavua, Ponipate Komai, Sefanaia Bola, Naisa Toko, Meli Nasau, Simone Cakauniqio, Tevita Vukicea, Manoa Vilikesa, Isaiah Tolotu, Sirilo Lovokuro, Jonathan Roseman, Gabriel Naliva, Makrau Fonumanu, Fenton Kotoisuva, Apimeleki Nasolo, Timoci Kotoisuva, Jone Sauvaka, Watisoni Druma, Jeremaia Keteca, Ratu Isikeli Komaisavai.

More Stories