Naholo in ABs team to Steinlager Series

Waisake Naholo (R) of New Zealand's All Blacks is tackled by Argentina's Facundo Isa during their Rugby Championship match at AMI Stadium in Christchurch, July 17, 2015. Picture: REUTERS

FIJIAN flyer Waisake Naholo has been named in the 33-member All Blacks team to face France for the three-Test Steinlager Series next month.

The Highlanders top try scorer will join his captain Ben Smith, Jordie Barret, Reiko Iowane and Milner-Skudder – who all have been named in the outside backs.

The Nadroumai native of Nadroga made his debut for the All Blacks in 2015 scoring 12 tries during his 19 appearance for the world champions.

Naholo is expected to be at the top of his game in his quest to cement his spot For next year’s Rugby World Cup.

He was the part of the All Blacks team that won the RWC in 2015 and also played for the New Zealand 7s team.

Meanwhile, dual international Sonny Billy Williams and the three Barret siblings (Joride (fullback), Beauden (flyhalf), Scott (lock) have been also named for the France tests.

All Blacks squad:

Backs: Jordie Barrett, Ben Smith (vc), Nehe Milner-Skudder, Waisake Naholo, Rieko Ioane, Jack Goodhue, Sonny Bill Williams, Anton Lienert-Brown, Ngani Laumape, Ryan Crotty, Richie Mo’unga, Damian McKenzie, Beauden Barrett, Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi, TJ Perenara, Aaron Smith.

Forwards: Luke Whitelock, Liam Squire, Shannon Frizell, Ardie Savea, Jordan Taufua, Sam Cane (vc), Vaea Fifita, Scott Barrett, Brodie Retallick, Sam Whitelock (c), Owen Franks, Ofa Tu’ungafasi, Jeff To’omaga-Allen, Tim Perry, Joe Moody, Nathan Harris, Codie Taylor.


More Stories