Nahehevia 7s: Raiwasa Taveuni rules

Raiwasa Taveuni players celebrate after winning the Fiji Bitter Nahehevia Valley 7s at Lawaqa Park in Sigatoka. Picture: REINAL CHAND

DXC Raiwasa Taveuni walked away $10,000 richer after winning the Fiji Bitter Nahehevia 7s tournament at Lawaqa Park in Sigatoka yesterday.

Raiwasa Taveuni defeated Fiji Bitter Nahehevia 21-5 in the men’s final.

It was a determined effort from the Raiwasa Taveuni side to lift the main title after going down in the finals of the past two sevens tournaments.

Raiwasa Taveuni lost to Police Blue 10-12 in the final of the Fiji Bitter Tabadamu 7s at Ratu Cakobau Park in Nausori last month and then went down to Police White 7-12 in the Fiji Bitter Nakorovou Mataso 7s at Churchill Park in Lautoka last week.

Raiwasa Taveuni coach/manager Seba Vulakoro said they managed to work on their mistakes from last week.

He said they took Police White for granted because they had a group of unknown qualities in their team.

“We did not perform to the expectation last week and Police White came out strong and defeated us,” Vulakoro said.

“The loss really brought us back to earth and we trained very hard this week. We are now looking forward to the two tournaments coming up back in Taveuni and also the Yasawa 7s which are all sponsored by Fiji Bitter.”

Paradise Beverages general manager sales and corporate affairs Joseph Rodan complimented all the teams for participating in the three-day event.

He said the teams showed a different class during the final day of action.

“We have just seen Fiji become the world rugby 7s champions again,” he said.

“We will sponsor the Yasawa 7s in Nadi. That will be followed by two tournaments in Taveuni. There will be a tournament in Kadavu also.

“We are proud to help in the development of grassroots rugby.”

CK Ezy Buy Marist took out the women’s title, defeating Navosa 24-5.

Marist collected $2000 while Navosa settled for $1000.

Dominion Brothers won the men’s under-21 title after defeating DXC Westfield Babas 12-7 in the final.

Dominion Brothers received $5000 while Westfield Babas got $1000.




Elimination One: Police White 36-10 Flick Vatuwaqa, DXC Raiwasa Taveuni 38-0 Rukurku, DXC Westfield 17-5 LV Stingray, Lomaiviti Seera 17-05 Yamacia, Kombat Uluinakau 22-17 Devo Babas, Fiji Bitter Nahehevia 24-7 Nadroga, Duibana Sorokoba 19-14 Bainivualiku, Lami Cavaliers 21-12 Avidi Brothers, Ratu Filise 7-0 Yanuya Rugby, Police Blue 21-10 Yalovata Spearhead, Army Green 31-7 Lomai Rugby, Nadroga Development 24-05 Nawaka;

(Eliminations Two): Sixth Sense 24-10 Duibana Sorokoba, Kombat Uluinakau 19-15 DXC Westfield Babas, Army Green 12-19 Lavidi Brothers, Fiji Bitter Nahehevia 29-0 Flick Vatuwaqa, Police White 14-12 Devo Babas, DXC Raiwasa Taveuni 17-7 Saunivalu, Lami Cavaliers 15-10 Yamacia, Police Blue 17-12 Ratu Filise

(Quarter-finals): Police White 19-24 Sixth Sense, DXC Raiwasa Taveuni 17-12 Uluinakau, Fiji Bitter Nahehevia 17-5 Lavidi Brothers, Police Blue 26-21 Lami Cavaliers

(Semi-finals): DXC Raiwasa Taveuni 31-7 Sixth Sense, Police Blue 14-21 Fiji Bitter Nahehevia; Final: Fiji Bitter Nahehevia 5-21 DXC Raiwasa Taveuni.

(Men’s U21) Semi-finals: DXC Westfield Babas 12-10 Airport Waqadra, Natabua 7-10 Dominion Brothers

Final: DXC Westfield Babas 7-12 Dominion Brothers.


Police 0-7 Henish Nahovotava, CK Ezy Buy Marist 25-5 Tagimoucia, Navosa 7-0 Mosi Vei Au Bukuya, Nahehevia 0-7 Lilian Amazons

Semi-finals: CK Ezy Buy Marist 24-15 Lilian Amazons, Tagimoucia 15-24 Navosa

Final: CK Ezy Buy Marist 24-5 Navosa.

More Stories