NINETEEN officials from 14 nations will control the 84 matches played over the three day Rugby World Cup 7s in San Francisco, USA.The 10 match officials for the men’s competition include Rasta Rasivhenge (South Africa), Richard Kelly (New Zealand), Craig Evans (Wales), Sam Grove-White (Scotland), Damon Murphy (Australia), Jeremy Rozier (France), Matt Rodden (Hong Kong), Richard Haughton (England), Damian Schneider (Argentina), Mike O’Brien (USA).

In the women’s event, the nine officials are Alhambra Nievas (Spain), Joy Neville (Ireland), Sara Cox (England), Adam Jones (Wales), Ben Crouse (South Africa), Sakurako Kawasaki (Japan), Hollie Davidson (Scotland), Rebecca Mahoney (New Zealand), Beatrice Benvenuti (Italy).


World Rugby’s High Performance Sevens Referees Manager Paddy O’Brien said: “The Rugby World Cup Sevens only comes around once in every four years and is a major highlight of the rugby sevens calendar. Just like the players, our team of highly experienced match officials are preparing themselves both mentally and physically, ready to play their part in what is destined to be an outstanding showcase of rugby sevens in an iconic venue.”

Over 60,000 tickets have already been sold for the tournament. The match schedule is due to be announced soon. Fiji is seeded second in the tourney behind South Africa.