Marika Koroibete named Australian Rugby Player of the Year

John Eales with Marika Koroibete. Picture: RUGBY AUSTRALIA

FIJI born Wallabies winger Marika Koroibete has made history as the former NRL player claimed Australian Rugby’s biggest prize — the John Eales Medal last night.

Rugby Australia reports Koroibete won the battle of the Fijian-born backs to see off Samu Kerevi and claim the John Eales Medal at awards in Sydney.

Koroibete’s stunning form at the Rugby World Cup was enough for him to become the first winger bestowed with the country’s premier player prize, awarded since 2002.

The former Melbourne Storm rugby league star came alive midway through his third season in rugby union, producing a series of scintillating performances.

Long-range tries against Samoa in Sydney and Georgia in Shizuoka were among the most spectacular solo scores of the year while clean breaks were a regular feature during his four appearances at the global tournament.

The 27-year old polled 200 votes from his Wallabies teammates, 50 clear of second-placed Kerevi, the powerhouse Queensland Reds back who was earlier crowned Australian Super Rugby player of the year.


John Eales Medal: Marika Koroibete.

Wallaroos player of the year: Grace Hamilton.

Super Rugby player of the year: Samu Kerevi.

Super W player of the year: Tayla Stanford.

Rookie of the year: Men – Jordan Petaia. Women – Alysia Lefau-Fakaosilea.

Sevens player of the year: Men – Maurice Longbottom. Women – Charlotte Caslick.

Junior Wallabies player of the year: Fraser McReight.

More Stories