Mar reigns in Lautoka singles bowls

Suren Prasad competes in the Victor Clark Bowling Championship in Lautoka. Picture: REINAL CHAND

NADI’S Sheral Mar was crowned the new women’s champion during the Shipping Services sponsored Victa Clark Singles Championship at the Lautoka Bowling Club greens yesterday.

The national elite squad member won all her round robin matches.

Sheral defeated Ani Thaggard 21-15, Doreen O’Conner21-18, Ili Seru 21-7, Mereani Nasedra 21-6, Buna from Vatukoula 21-15 and Carol from Australia 22-6.

Defending champion Elizabeth Mocewai failed to turn up for the event.

Tournament co-ordinator David Bennion said seven women participated in the round robin format. Bennion said they were forced to postpone the afternoon fixtures on Saturday because the heavy downpour flooded the greens making it unplayable.

“There was a major upset in the men’s eliminations as new comer Niklesh Satya beat Kushal Pillay 21-14,” he said.

“Niklesh is the son of veteran Permal who is an ardent bowler and longtime member of the Lautoka Bowling Club.

“We started day two early and managed to get the women’s competition out of the way. Sheral was on top of her game and deserved to take home the title. Hopefully the numbers will increase next year.”

The men’s competition was still in progress when this edition went to press last night.

Results: Men’s Eliminations: Semesa Naiseruvati 21Nicholas Thaggard 12, David Aitcheson 21 Waisea Senibici 20, Niklesh Satya 21 KushalPillay 14, Curtis Mar 21 Shorab Khan 16, Munesh Kumar 21 Asaeli Nabogi 11, SomPadayachi 21 Rick Eyre 7, Dev Anand 21 Ram Chandar 16, Zynal Mohammed 21 PermalSatya 16.

More Stories