Les Blues name Vakatawa as Samoa recalls Afa Aiono

Federic Pommarel has named a strong squad for the opening round of the 2014/15 HSBC Sevens World Series.

Following a successful summer in which France won two titles in the Rugby Europe Grand Prix Sevens Series, with players such as Virimi Vakatawa, Stephen Parez and Terry Bourraoua are all included.

France squad: Steeve Barry, Terry Bouhraoua, Renaud Delmas, Vincent Deniau, Bryan Dimeck, Jean-Baptiste Gobelet, Vincent Inigo, Pierre-Gillies Lakafia, Jonathan Laugel, Jean-Baptiste Mazoue, Stephen Parez, Virimi Vakatawa

Meanwhile Afa Aiono returns to the Samoa squad for the opening round on Australia’s Gold Coast.

Fuimaono Titimaea Tafua’s side will compete in the Oceania Sevens before they embark on the new season, which is part of the Olympic qualification process.

Having finished eighth last season, Samoa will be hoping to finish in the top four to guarantee their spot at the 2016 Rio Olympic Games.

Samoa will begin the Series alongside champions New Zealand, France and the new core team Japan.

More Stories