Laisani creates football history

HISTORY was created for Fiji Football Association after Laisani Mataele was named as the first women coach to win the Fiji FA coach of the Year award.

The Tailevu/Naitasiri coach was lost for words after her name was announced during Fiji FA Awards night at Suva last night.

Laisani won the top award ahead of Lautoka coach Kamal Swamy and Rewa Youth coach Nigel Khan.

“I really don’t know what to say,” she said.

“I was nervous when I was selected as one of the best three coaches for the award and I didn’t expect to win.

“I thank all my players, management and relatives for this achievement,” she said.

Meanwhile, Lautoka and national rep Dave Radregai was named the Fiji Football Player of the Year.

Winners: Bank of Baroda Junior Woman’s Footballer of the Year 2017: Vani Bainivalu (Tailevu Naitasiri), Jack’s of Fiji Junior Footballer of the Year 2017: Mohammed Nigel (Rewa), 4R Electric Fair Player of the Year 2017; Shahil Dave (Suva), All Basic Supplies Media Personnel of the Year 2017: Reginald Chandar (Fijilive), Amalgamated Referee of the Year 2017: Avinesh Narayan (Ba), Late JD Maharaj Administrator of the Year (Premier) 2017: Mohammed Nazeel (Rewa),, Late Sashi Mahendra Singh Coach of the Year 2017: Laisani Mataele (Tailevu Naitasiri Women), Bank of South Pacific Team of the Year 2017: Rewa, 10. Coca-Cola Woman’s Footballer of the year 2017: Luisa Tamani ( Ba), Vodafone Fiji Popular Footballer of the Year 2017: Zibraaz Saheb (Lautoka), National Hire Footballer of the year 2017: Dave Radrigai (Lautoka), Smart & Efficient Security Services Volunteer of the Year 2017: Meli Yasawa (Tailevu Naitasiri),HFC Bank Administrator of the Year (Senior) 2017 Pranesh Pratap (Tavua).

More Stories