Ireland will compete, Fiji after win

Ireland will compete in the Cathay Pacific/HSBC Hong Kong Sevens for the first time since 2000 when they join Hong Kong and a host of other hopefuls in the 7s series qualifying competition.

Ireland qualified for Hong Kong by finishing second in the 2017 European Grand Prix of Sevens and their 7s program is on the rise as Fiji hunts for more success in the So Kon Po holy grail..

They will face stiff competition in Hong Kong, with Japan, Germany and Chile among the front-runners, along with the home side.

Hong Kong are looking to put years of disappointment in the qualifier behind them and grab the single series place available.

Uganda, Zimbabwe, Jamaica, Uruguay, Georgia, Papua New Guinea and Cook Islands round out Hong Kong’s opponents, while South Korea are again the invited team in the main event.

Traditional heavyweights South Africa, New Zealand and Fiji are at the top of the World Series after four legs, with round five taking place this weekend in Las Vegas.

The total of 28 men’s teams once again confirms Hong Kong’s status as the largest tournament on the World Series.

England, the USA and Australia will also fancy themselves in Hong Kong, while reigning cup champions Fiji will be hell bent on maintaining their dominance at the home of 7s. With three wins on the trot, Gareth Baber’s side are bidding for the first ever four-peat in the 43 years of 7s rugby in Hong Kong.

More Stories