Hussein retains Lautoka golf title

Professional golfers (from left) Tomasi Tuivuna, Zoheer Ahmed and Roneel Prakash. Picture: SUPPLIED

NATIONAL golf representative Abid Hussein successfully defended his Lautoka Open Golf Championship title last weekend after a hard fought battle against Xavier College teacher, Asish Chand.

The duo grossed 70 only to be separated by a six-hole play-off whereby Hussein emerged victorious and proved his status as the top ranked amateur golfer in Fiji.

The Geotech Drilling & Islands Electric-sponsored tournament attracted a record 110 golfers from around Fiji and some from overseas.

The overall nett title was won by Mahendra Chetty of Melbourne, Australia, on 64 on a countback from Natabua High School student Shakeel Pillay. Ga In Ju of Denarau, Nadi, took out the women’s title on a round 77.

Club executive Raymond Singh said: “To attract more than 100 golfers on a 9-hole golf course is testimony for the continued success of this championship that has been continuously being played since 1931.

“Likewise, with the support of Gary Barnett of Geotech Drilling International Services, this was the biggest ever sponsorship for LGC. The Professionals competed for a total $4000 cash prize.”

Golf Fiji secretary James Pridgeon commended the LGC management and was impressed with the top condition of the greens and fairways.

Full results:- Overall gross – Abid Hussein – 70. Overall nett – Mahen Chetty – 64. A – grade gross: Asish Chand – 70, Munesh Prasad – 73. Suren Pillay – 73. B- grade: Dr Vimal Murthi – 75, Lawrence John – 76, Jeral Sharma – 78. C – grade: Subhash Chand – 82, Asish Kumar – 82, Matt Cauty – 86. A – grade nett – Nigel Gounden – 68, Baron Hussein – 70, Rohit Chandra – 70. B- grade: Shakeel Pillay – 64, Dinesh Narayan – 68, Arvind Pillay – 68. C – grade nett – Avinesh Dutt – 65, Roland Singh -71, Raymond Singh- 73. Women’s overall gross – Ga In Ju – 77, women’s overall nett – Ruth Lee – 80, women’s juniors nett – Raina Kumar – 82, most golf – Steven Leger – 121. NTP 2/11th – Willam Danford, NTP 9th – Joe Daruna, LD – James Pridgeon, sponsors gross award – James Pridgeon – 74.

More Stories