Hot cross buns
31 March, 2018, 12:00 am
HOT cross buns are traditionally eaten on Good Friday on the British Isles and some parts of the Commonwealth such as Canada and Australia.
Why do we eat hot cross buns, some people may ask?
Website www.express.co.uk says that eating hot cross buns marks the end of Lent because they are made with dairy products which are forbidden during this period.
The origins of hot cross buns may go back as far as the 12th century. According to the story, an Anglican monk baked the buns and marked them with a cross in honour of Good Friday.
Over time they gained popularity, and eventually became a symbol of Easter weekend.
Research says that hot cross buns are the perfect Easter treat for vegans as they contain no eggs or dairy products.
These vegan hot cross buns are perfect if you’re on a vegan diet. They’re really easy to make too.
Hot Bread Kitchen started their hot cross buns on Monday and it would go on until Sunday. There are three special buns for the season namely chocolate chip bun, spice cross bun and plain cross bun.