FRCS Business Reform Committee holds first meeting

FRCS Business Reform Committee members at the meeting. Picture: SUPPLIED

THE Fiji Revenue and Customs Service (FRCS) Business Reform Committee held its first meeting today.

The committee was first announced by the Attorney-General and Minister for Economy Aiyaz Sayed-Khaiyum in the 2019-2020 National Budget address.

Committee members comprised high powered delegates of Fijian CEOs, entrepreneurs, and executives who are tasked to improve various processes of FRCS associated with starting, sustaining and growing businesses in Fiji.

Members of the committee include Anjani Singh; Sandeep Chauhan; Nitesh Lal; Fantasha Lockington; Saud Abdul Minam; John Samisoni; Himmat Lodhia; Adelene Tutu; Dilip Khatri; Peter Rankin; Sanjay Kaba; Marita Manley; Mohammed Khan; Sandip Kumar; Lala Sowane; Bhavesh Kumar; Romit Meghji; George Goundar; Dilen Kumar; Nilesh Prasad; Justin Hunter; Dr Nur Bano Ali; Sangeeta Maharaj; Winston Hill; Kirit Patel; Kaushal Tappoo;  Gordon Jenkins; and Vera Chute.

The committee is chaired by  Dilip Khatri with Sandeep Chauhan serving as Deputy Chairman.

Key objectives of the Committee amongst others are reviewing of the tax and customs administration, ensuring smooth implementation of the VAT Monitoring Systems, improving FRCS’ stakeholder engagement strategies, examining the effectiveness of trade and investment facilitation policies, and building FRCS’s service to accommodate businesses of different sizes and sectors.

In the meeting, the Permanent Secretary for Economy presented the fiscal revenue to members, followed by a presentation by the Chief Executive Officer of FRCS.

Mr Sayed-Khiayum briefed and guided members of the product Government expects out of the Committee, as it will be focused on soliciting and collating of information relevant to improving the processes of FRCS.

A report of the findings will consequently be presented to the Ministry of Economy once finalised.


More Stories