Final plans

Aporosa Tabulawaki leads the charge during training at Prince Charles Park in Nadi. Picture: BALJEET SINGH

Fiji Airways Drua head coach Senirusi Seruvakula urged his forwards to move up another notch in the much anticipated National Rugby  Championship final against Queensland Country tomorrow.

He said the visitors were expected to feature strongly upfront and has called on the Drua to be rock solid in countering the opposition.

“The thing about Queensland Country is they play a similar style of rugby to us with a lot of individual talent which makes both teams so dangerous,” Seruvakula said.

“Our forwards have to step up and do their jobs and the bench will be ready when their time is called.”

This weekend’s match will be a winner takes all affair with the Drua deciding to put the Horan Little Shield up for challenge.

Seruvakula has named an unchanged starting line-up for the final with just one change to the reserves.

Nadroga flyer Avete Daveta returns to the team replacing Lepani Raiyala as the coach opted for maturity and consistency from his team as they’ve
displayed in the past few rounds.

“There is only one team left to beat and that is Queensland Country.

“We’ve heard their coach talk about them being full of confidence, and for us we have to take that same confidence into the match. Both teams want to win on Saturday.

“We don’t need to look back to our game against Queensland Country, we just need to build from what we’ve been doing these last few weeks.

“The boys know it’s going to be a tough encounter, they’ll have to put their bodies on the line and leave nothing in the tank on the weekend.”

The two teams have met on three previous occasions and the Australians have the balance of the ledger, but the cool-headed coach says his team is quietly confident they can do what it takes to secure victory on the weekend.

The game will be held at Lautoka’s Churchill Park, 3.30pm.

Tickets are on sale at Lautoka City Council and the FRU, $10 for grandstand, $5 for embankment and children under-12 free.

Drua: 1. Joeli Veitayaki , 2. Mesulame Dolokoto, 3. Benji Makutu, 4. Peni Naulago, 5. Albert Tuisue, 6. Mosese Voka ©, 7. Jone Navori, 8. Eremasi
Radrodro, 9. Frank Lomani, 10. Alivereti Veitokani , 11. Aporosa Tabulawaki , 12. Cyril Reece, 13. Apisalome Vota, 14. Levani Kurumudu , 15. Apisalome Waqatabu. Reserves: 16. Ratunaisa Navuma, 17. Eroni Mawi, 18. Luke Tagi, 19. Tevita Naqali , 20. Johnny Dyer, 21. Peni Matawalu, 22. Enele Malele, 23. Avete Daveta

More Stories