FijiFirst in power

THE FijiFirst party will be the party that will form the next government, however, as of 9pm last night, a final tally of the results had not been given by the Fijian Elections Office.

FijiFirst had 59.2 per cent of the total votes counted when the official result was given at 9pm last night indicating a majority win without the need for coalition.

What was predicted mostly to be a two-horse race between FijiFirst and SODELPA, became evidently one-sided a day after polling ended on September 17.

As of then 1990 of 2025 polling stations and postal ballots had been processed. The results were from a total vote count of 485,566.

FijiFirst led with 287,231 votes, SODELPA had 136,967 votes, which is 28.2 per cent while the National Federation Party had 26,418 votes which is 5.4 per cent of the total vote count. PDP had 15,491 votes while Fiji Labour Party had 11,440 votes.

The Supervisor of Elections Mohammed Saneem was due to announce what seemingly would have been the final result at 9pm but the audit of the counts and processing of data took up time.

In his address at 9pm, he said the final result would be made shortly. No specific time was given.

FijiFirst leader Voreqe Bainimarama leads the candidate vote count with 197,672 votes, SODELPA leader Ro Teimumu Kepa had 48,351 votes, Aiyaz Sayed-Khaiyum had 13,466 while NFP’s Professor Biman Prasad had 7931 votes.

What has been confirmed is that FijiFirst will form government, SODELPA and NFP will be part of the opposition, however, as of last night the allocation of seats were not done.