FijiFirst ahead

FIJIFIRST party leader Voreqe Bainimarama has commanded a very good lead as the candidate with the most number of votes.

As at 9pm last night following the processing of 1553 polling stations of the 2025, Mr Bainimarama had 147,032 votes. His personal vote count making 70 per cent of the FijiFirst total.

SODELPA leader Ro Teimumu Kepa had 35,594 votes.

Third on the table was FijiFirst general secretary Aiyaz Sayed-Khaiyum with 9547 votes.

SODELPA man Niko Nawaikula had 5991 with National Federation Party frontman Professor Biman Prasad having 5734 votes.

FijiFirst still maintained overall lead in the part count.

After a count of 365,819 votes, FijiFirst had 211,940 votes which amounted to 57.97 per cent of the total votes counted.

SODELPA had 107,350 votes, National Federation Party had 19,675 the People’s Democratic Party had surpassed Fiji Labour Party having 11856 with the latter having 8609.

Independent candidate Roshika Deo received 763 votes so far.

Total registered voters before the election was 591,095 of which 65,875 were involved in pre-polling.

After the 1553 polling stations were processed, total votes received were 365,819.

While the Fijian Elections Office was busy with the count and data processing, the Electoral Commission was gearing up for the task of allocating seats to candidates.

Father David Arms of the commission clarified that seats in parliament depended on the votes candidates received.

He said if a party had an allocation of 10 seats, then the parties’ candidates with most votes would be given the seats and it was not at the privy of the party leader to decide who got the seats.