Fijian football legend leads team to Lautoka golf win

Dennis Singh, left, is among former Fjii and Lautoka football reps playing golf weekly in the Sugar City. Pictured with him is FNPF's Praveer Chand. Picture: SUPPLIED

Former stylish and lanky Fiji and Lautoka football rep Vinod Chand teamed up with United States-based Nur Ali to win the Tesla Electrical Products-sponsored two-men 18 holes stroke Ambrose event at the Lautoka Golf Club course last weekend.

The duo netted 61.25 to pip the consistent pair of Shiva Rajan and Gaffar Ali, who had to settle for second on 61.75.

Lawrence Naidu and Lautoka-based pastor Pritam Singh finished on third position after carding 63.25.

Brothers Akilesh Shiu and Jay Shiu Ram were rewarded in the Beginner’s category.

Meanwhile, Dinesh Narayan won the nearest to pin (NTP) award on the second hole with Lawrence Naidu on the ninth.

Isei Waqa drove the longest drive on Par 5 third hole.

Newly-married club professional Roneel Prakash posted his favourite score of 69 to nab the Pro-title.

Meanwhile, Sanjay Krishna and Reginald Ram were declared the pool table pairs champions after recording five straight wins.

Club executive Raymond Singh thanked the club’s dedicated members for their continued support, especially in maintaining the course.

“The club is encouraging parents to register their children aged between 6-16 years for the free golf lessons and start to play golf as a hobby and grasp the basics to enter the competitive level later,” Singh said.

“We have groomed youngsters who are now on their way to become Fijian champions one day.

“You will not know the beauty of golf, until you start playing.”

Other results:

Daven Mudaliar/ Praveer Chand – 64, Dr.Vimal Murth/Sanjay Krishna – 64.25, Reginal Ram/ Maika Kasami – 65, Zabir Ali/ Dinesh Narayan – 65.25, Asish Kumar/ Vinesh Murthi – 65.5, Isei Waqa/ Ansarul Khan – 65.5, Vinkash Chand/ Manwal Ajay – 66.75.

Meanwhile, the LGC will host a Bonanza Ambiant Edge (Pte) Ltd-sponsored two men 18 holes stroke Ambrose event tomorrow.

Tee-off will be from 12.15pm – 1.15pm.

The starters are Suren Pillay and Raymond Singh.

Looking after the cards are Asish Kumar and Vikash Chand.

Match – Sanjay Krishna/ Isei Waqa, prize presentation – Atil Prakash.

“There will be top four team prizes including the juniors and beginners category, the sponsor’s choice and lucky draw. No late entries will be accepted.”

Golfers who want to rebook carts can contact Reginal Ram on telephone 9896335.

More Stories