Fiji teams confirmed for rugby series events

Fiji 7s captain Jerry Tuwai at the 2020 Tokyo Olympics in August. Picture: World Rugby

Fiji will compete in the Dubai 7s tournament from November 26-27 and December 3-4.

Fiji Rugby Union chief executive officer John O’Connor issued the good news to Fijians and rugby fans worldwide yesterday.

“We will be sending both teams,” O’Connor told The Fiji Times.

World Rugby yesterday announced the return of its world sevens series starting with the indoor Dubai leg for the men’s and women’s competitions at The Sevens Stadium.

The 2022 series will include 10 men’s and seven women’s rounds over six months minus traditional powerhouse hosts South Africa, New Zealand and Australia which have stronghold of Fijian fans.

The three new hosts are Malaga and Seville in Spain, and Toulouse in France. O’Connor, after the Japan Olympics, indicated Fiji’s participation in Dubai.

“The Fijiana 7s next campaign is the Dubai 7s at the end of the year. We have explained to World Rugby about the current situation we are having and the players are joining their families after five months.”

Coaches Gareth Baber and Saiasi Fuli are expected to take charge as negotiations for their future continue with the Rugby House.

“The coaches’ contracts expire in December. They are taking a break and we will re-engage them after their break. We are in discussion with coach Gareth Baber. We will sit again for discussion and know their decisions accordingly.”

The series returns after Christmas with Spain hosting two tournaments; Malaga from next January 21-23 and Seville a week later.

The men’s series continues with the Canada 7s in Vancouver from February 26-27, and Los Angeles in the US on March 5-6.

The prestigious Hong Kong 7s, for the first time, will host the men’s and women’s events from April 1-3, followed by a men’s event in Singapore from April 9-10.

A women’s event will take place in Langford, Canada, from April 30 – May 1 before a combined event in Toulouse, France, from May 20-22 where the women’s series champion will be crowned.

The men’s series ends at the London 7s from May 28-29 May. Next year is exciting for 7s with the Commonwealth Games in Birmingham from July 29-31 July and the Rugby World Cup Sevens in Cape Town, South Africa from September 9-11.

More Stories