Fiji FA awards winners

It was a delight to read the article titled “Laisani creates football history” by Maciu in The Fiji Times as the coach of Tailevu Naitasiri walked away with the Coach of the Year Award.

Laisani earned accolades as the first woman coach to win the Fiji FA Coach of the Year Award.

Indeed a remarkable achievement by Laisani who won the top award against Rewa Youth coach Nigel Khan and top Blues mentor Kamal Swamy, who I had thought would smile his way to the award.

While I congratulate Laisani, I thank The Fiji Times for the article on Laisani as it gives women an opportunity to make newspaper headlines.

This week was special as Apolonia and Eileen were awarded in Gold Coast.

On the other hand, Lautoka wonder boy and Nadarivatu lad Dave Radregai deserves the 2017 FFA Footballer of the Year Award.

He has been impressive for the Blues outfit and our national soccer team.

A disciplined, fit and solid player, Dave is known to play for pride whether it’s club soccer, playing for Lautoka or for Fiji.

I also congratulate Zibraaz Sahib for being awarded the 2017 Popular Footballer of the Year.

Zibraaz is another talent of the Press Football Club like his elder brother Robert Sahib who represented Press and Lautoka.

Dave and Zibraaz are part of the victorious Blues side.

Meanwhile, Bureta resident and former referee Bobby Dave was full of smiles when his “sonny boy” and upcoming Suva star Sahil Dave was awarded Fair Player of the Year.

Sahil is a disciplined player and plays his heart out for Bureta and Suva.

This award was long overdue to Sahil.

Well done bro!

As I conclude, I congratulate Rewa president Nazeel Buksh, Vani Bainivalu, Mohammed Nigel, Avinesh Narayan, Reginald, Luisa and Pranesh Pratap for their achievements. While Pranesh deserves a round of applause for guiding Tavua back to the premier division, Rewa deserves the Team of the Year Award. Winning the Fiji FACT and BOG was an incredible achievement.


More Stories