Escott Shield and Koroturaga Cup achieves 105 years in Fiji rugby scene

Captains for the participating teams in the Escott Shield and Koroturaga Cup matches at the Suva Rugby Union press conference held at the Stanley Brown Naval Base in Walu Bay, Suva, on Thursday, August 23, 2018. Picture: JONACANI LALAKOBAU

SUVA Rugby Union is commemorating the 105 years of the Escott Shield and 10 years of the Koroturaga Club Rugby competition.

Named after the Governor of Fiji in 1913, Sir Ernest Sweet-Escott, the Escott Shield has been the Holy Grail for Suva rugby clubs.

Police Blues is the current holder of the Escott Shield while Nasinu Rugby Club maintains hold on the Koroturaga Cup.

The top eight teams of both grades will go head to head in quarterfinal rounds this Saturday, August 25, at Bidesi grounds.

Escott Shield Quarterfinal Draws:

QF1: Police Blue vs Savura
QF2: Covenant Blue vs Nabua
QF3: Navy vs Regent Breakthrough
QF4: Army Green vs QVSOB

Koroturaga Grade Quarterfinal Draws:

QF1: Fire-Wardens vs USP Rugby Club
QF2: Nasinu vs Draunivau Sharks
QF3: RKSOB vs Namuka-i-Lau
QF4: Police White vs Army Red

More Stories