Drua coach confident of lineup

Fiji Airways Drua's flyhalf Alivereti Veitokani recieves the ball during training. Picture: ATU RASEA/FILE

FIJI Airways Drua star Alivereti Veitokani will start at his usual position of flyhalf when his team takes on NSW Country Eagles in the Rugby Championship this Saturday.

Veitokani started at fullback last week and scored two tries in the 34-31 win over Sydney Rays.

Head coach Senirusi Seruvakula has shuffled his line up, resting a few key figures and ensuring his squad is fresh and ready for another month of fierce competition.

“We are happy to be back in Fiji and looking forward to taking on NSW Country this weekend” he said.

“I am confident in our entire squad and know this team will put forward a solid effort on game day,” said Seruvakula.

The front row sees Mesulame Dolokoto earn his first start in the number 2 jersey alongside the combination of Veitayaki and Rabukawaqa who started in Sydney.

Jone Navori debuts in the backrow at number 7 with Captain Mosese Voka moving across to 6.

Energetic scrum half Frank Lomani will be rested with Serupepeli Vularika taking the reigns with Alivereti Veitokani back into fly half position to steer the Drua attack.

A new look back line combination will see Aporosa Tabulawaki (11) and Levani Kurumudu (14) on the wings with Jone Manu maintaining his spot at 12 and Apete Daveta moving into the centres at 13. Apisalome Waqatabu returns to the start list at fullback.

Cyril Reece has been rotated out of the match day squad welcoming Apisalome Vota for a debut appearance off the bench.

The match kicks off at 3pm at Suva’s ANZ Stadium on Saturday.

Fiji Drua squad
1. Joeli Veitayaki
2. Mesulame Dolokoto
3. Alifereti Rabukawaqa
4. Tevita Naqali
5. Albert Tuisue
6. Mosese Voka
7. Jone Navori
8. Eremasi Radrodro
9. Serupepeli Vularika
10. Alivereti Veitokani
11. Aporosa Tabulawaki
12. Jone Manu
13. Apete Daveta
14. Levani Kurumudu
15. Apisalome Waqatabu

16. Ratunaisa Navuma
17. Eroni Mawi
18. Luke Tagi
19. Filimoni Seru
20. Johnny Dyer
21. Peni Matawalu
22. Apisalome Vota
23. Asaeli Atunaisa

More Stories