Courts IDC: Legends honoured

NINE players of the 1988 national Fiji football team that beat Australia 1-nil at Nadi’s Prince Charles Park were honoured by senior officials of the Fiji Football Association at the Courts Inter District Championship in Suva today.

Medals with cash prize were given to the nine players for their heroics in the historical victory.

Fiji FA CEO Mohammed Yusuf said the efforts of these players should never be forgotten.

“These players played really well in that year. They were courageous, they played their hearts out and they produced the results no ever had ever even thought about,” he said.

In the players who were part of the celebrations today included the goal scorer in that win Ravuama Madigi, goal keeper Tevita Lasaqa, Meli Vuilabasa, Kaverieli Salesi, Jone Watisoni, Dan Lutumailagi, Ratu Suliano Matenitobua, Vimal Sami and Lote Delai.

Lote Delai, to date, is the longest serving national team player ever having played for the national team for a record 13 years.

Other players who could not be part of today’s function include:

Ronald Chaudhry- Canada

Ronal Mani- Canada

Abraham Watkins- Australia

Ivor Ivans- USA

Shamil Ali- USA

More Stories