Cheika names four Fijians

FIJIAN rugby superstars have dominated the Wallabies backline in their match against Japan this weekend.

Flyers Marika Koroibete and Henry Speight have been named on the wings while Samu Kerevi and Tevita Kuridrani will form the midfield combination.

This historical selection is the first for any international team to field four players in the backline starting up.

Kurtley Beale will man the number 15 jumper, flyhalf Reece Hodge and halfback Nick Phillips will join the four Fijians in the backline.

Kuridrani is the most capped Fijian player out of the lot having won 54 caps followed by Speight with 17. Kerevi has played 14 Test matches while former Melbourne Storm rugby league flyer has won four Test matches for Australia.

Meanwhile other Fijian boys earlier selected in the Wallabies backline recently are Eto Nabuli and Taqele Naiyaravoro.

Wallabies starting side:

1. Scott Sio (39 Tests), 2. Tatafu Polota-Nau (78 Tests), 3. Sekope Kepu (87 Tests), 4. Rob Simmons (78 Tests), 5. Adam Coleman (18 Tests), 6. Ned Hanigan (9 Tests), 7. Michael Hooper (c) (75 Tests), 8. Sean McMahon (22 Tests), 9. Nick Phipps (vc) (58 Tests), 10. Reece Hodge (20 Tests), 11. Marika Koroibete (4 Tests), 12. Samu Kerevi (14 Tests), 13. Tevita Kuridrani (54 Tests), 14. Henry Speight (17 Tests), 15. Kurtley Beale (vc) (67 Tests) Reserves: 16. Stephen Moore (125 Tests), 17. Tom Robertson (15 Tests), 18. Allan Alaalatoa (19 Tests), 19. Matt Philip*, 20. Ben McCalman (49 Tests), 21. Lopeti Timani (9 Tests), 22. Joe Powell (2 Tests), 23. Curtis Rona (2 Tests)

More Stories