Chandra wins again

AIRPORT Fiji Ltd fireman Anuresh Chandra successfully defended the Total Fiji Ltd-sponsored Vatukoula Open Championship on Sunday.

Anuresh won the event after a three hole play-off against fellow Nadi Airport Golf Club member Roneel Prakash.

Both Anuresh and Prakash finished the 36 holes tournament at Fiji’s most challenging course with a score of 12 over par 156 forcing the playoff.

The play-off was held on the first three holes.

Anuresh birdied the first and third hole and recorded a par on the second while Prakash carded a par on all the three holes.

Anuresh said he was happy to win the first major title of the season.

“I missed out on selection for the World Amateur Team Championship in Japan last month but I continued to practise to improve my game,” the national elite squad member said.

“Playing at the Vatukoula course is not easy. You need to be fit to walk up and down the hilly terrain. I would like to thank my long-time sponsor Islands Electric and my family members for all the support.”

Total Fiji Ltd’s regional sales and marketing manager Suresh Chauhan was the chief guest during the prize presentation ceremony.

Ravin Padarath won the overall nett title with a score of 145. Prakash had to settle for the A Grade first gross prize. Abid Hussain was second with 161 while Olaf Frank Grant Allen was third with 167.

Ba’s Rohit Chandra won the A Grade nett with a score of 154. Nigel Goundan was second with 157 while Vishwa Nadan was third with 158.

Michele Hollingworth won the B Grade gross with 181. Robert Elliot was second with 192 and Jyoti Lal was third scoring 192.

Rajesh Prasad won the B Grade nett with the score of 162. Ashwin Sharma was second with 165 while Vijay Krishna finished third with 184.

Eroni Gurutoki won the C Grade gross with a score of 194. Alvin Singh was second with a score of 172 and Vincent Corrie was third with 216.

Shavneel Gounder won the C Grade nett scoring 171. Suresh Prasad claimed the second position after edging out Munivai Fesau on a countback. Both golfers scored 172.

Other results: Longest Drive Day One: Usaia Mara, Longest Drive Day

Two: Abid Hussein; NTP Day 1: hole 4: Roneel Prakash, hole 13:

Roneel Prakash; Day 2: hole 4: Roneel Prakash, hole 13 Olaf Frank

Grant Allen. Day 1: C Grade gross: Pradeep Prakash 111, C Grade

nett: Vilimoni 96; B Grade gross: Sunil Sharma 111, B Grade nett:

Sanjay Krishna 96. Day 1: A Grade gross: Rahul Kumar 83, A Grade

nett: Vijay Krishna Singh 81. Day 2: A Grade gross: Usaia Mara, A

Grade nett: Asish Kumar 79.

More Stories