Basketball names teams for Pacific Games

The Basketball Federation of PNG has named its squads for the Pacific Games in Apia, Samoa in July. Picture: THE NATIONAL

PORT MORESBY, 03 APRIL 2019 (POST COURIER) – The Basketball Federation of PNG has named its squads for the Pacific Games in Apia, Samoa in July.

BFPNG president Nick Daroa announced the names of the players after the selectors met with the PNG Olympic Committee Justification Committee last Monday (April 25). The training squad was also confirmed.

The team for the Men’s 5×5 is Purari Muri, Charles Parapa, Liam Wright, Lloyd Wright, Apia Muri, Matineng Leahy, Christian Pang, Moses Lune, Aaron Farmer, Robert Kave, Conillus Muri and James Banduru. The reserves are Mika Loko, Anderson Hewe, Alu Kave and Garry Suve.

The Women’s 5×5 is Marca Muri, Betty Angula, Normalisa Dobunaba, Nester Sape, Rosa Kairi, Lewa Hani, Erica Amos, Sherah Yawasing, Denienne Bray, Peninah Javapro, Magdelene Javapro, Jonita Warape.

The reserves are Sarah Amos, Esther Tomerop and Mary Cindy Elavo. New players were brought in to replace athletes in the 3×3 teams after they were ruled ineligible by FIBA.

The teams are: Men’s 3×3 Dia Muri, Obert Muri, Augustine Kaupa, Percy Aaron, Richard Arava, Steven Vela and Jordan Sere. The Women’s 3×3 are Margaret Fraser, Vhasty Jamsop, Louisa Wallace, Christine OScar, Betty Wong, Lydia Gotuno and Elina Yala.

“We will be holding another 5 on 5 and a 3×3 camp shortly to name our final squads for the Pacific Games in July.”

In an email earlier last week, BFPNG chief executive officer Stephen Damien said the final men and women’s teams for both the five by five and three by three team version of basketball will be subject to the PNG Olympic Justification Committee approval, including athletes’ attendance at training and their ongoing fitness testing.

“The BFPNG is confident that with the right preparations, all four teams are in the hunt for medals and a podium finish,” Damien said.

After screening players, the BFPNG has named its final 12 men and women’s teams which also include shadow players.

More Stories