Awards first list out

Fiji Sports Council CEO, LitianaLoabuka and Asco Motors leasing product manager, Mark Magnus in Suva yesterday. Picture: JONACANI LALAKOBAU

THE first set of nominees list of the Fiji Sports Awards has been released ahead of the Annual Fiji Sports Awards scheduled to be held next month at the Vodafone Arena in Suva.

The 2018 sports organisation of the year winner, the Fiji Rugby Union have secured their place again in this 2019 nominees list alongside Special Olympics Fiji, Fiji Swimming, Asia Pacific Taekwondo, Fiji Taekwondo and Weightlifting Fiji.

Team of the year nominees include the Fiji Sevens team, Nausori Taekwondo Club, 2019 Pacific Games swim team after an impressive performance at the Samoa Pacific Games, Women’s 5-a-side football team, Fiji Women’s 4x100m relay team at the Pacific Games, the Vodafone Fiji Bati, Weightlifting Fiji Youth and Junior Oceania commonwealth team, Fiji Badminton 2019 Pacific Games team, Fiji Judo Association women’s team and the 2020 Pacific Games Basketball women’s team.

There are a total of 109 nominations at the 2019 Fiji Sports Awards night.

Asco Motors Fiji yesterday announced their presence as a category sponsor for the Team of the year award.

Asco Motors liaising manager Mark Magnus said they were grateful to be sponsors of the team of the year award as it blended well with their organisation theme.

“We chose this award to sponsor as it works well with our work culture at Asco Motors which is working together as a team, we have over 350 employees and we all work hand in hand to help deliver the services that is needed by our customers,” said Magnus.

Fiji Sports Awards chairperson Litiana Loabuka said they were grateful to all corporates for their sponsorship and support throughput the years.

“The Fiji Sports Awards is grateful and we have always thanked our sponsors for the categories, and we hope we will be able to deliver the mileage that Asco Motors will be glad to have which is something that we hope to deliver over the next few weeks,” said Loabuka.

Other award nominees: Technical official of the year: Fiji Rugby Union- Alan Muir, Asia Pacific Taekwondo- He Canguang, Fiji Taekwondo- Soo Nam Kim, Special Olympics- Robin Dayal, Weightlifting Fiji- Joape Tuimaikorolevu, Athletics Fiji- Josaia Tuinamata, Tennis Fiji- Sachin Shailendra Reddy, Fiji Table Tennis Association- Eva Liang, World Archery Fiji- Ajay Ballu, Fiji Swimming Association- Trisa Cheer, Fiji Netball Association-Ruci Camaitoga, Basketball Fiji- Viliame Vacala.

Administrator of the year: Fiji Rugby Union- John Masi O’connor, Asia Pacific Taekwondo- Anthony Mark Valentine, Fiji Taekwondo- Keresi Jeong, Special Olympics- Nischal Nishal Karan, Weightlifting Fiji- Ritesh Ratiram, Fiji National Rugby League- Jacquelin Shannon,Fiji Swimming Association- Ben Rova, World Archery Fiji-George Fong, Saioni Sports Association- Ma’ake Tabua, Serua Sports Association- Ratu Jope Naucabalavu Sukanaveita, United Blind Person of Fiji- Samuela Veikoso, Waidroka Sports Association- Litia Naitanui

More Stories