2018 General Elections: 17 polling stations closed, 6094 voters affected

Supervisor of Elections Mohammed Saneem Picture: JOVESA NAISUA/FILE

ADVERSE weather conditions have prevented 6,094 voters from voting with the Fijian Elections Office deciding to close 17 polling venues.

Supervisor of Elections, Mohammed Saneem said some of the venues were flooded and the decision to close these stations was made after discussions with the Electoral Commission.

Mr Saneem said these voters would be given another chance to vote at a later date, to be announced by the FEO.

He added this will not stop the counting process which will start this evening. However, the votes from these polling venues will be factored into the official results once their election date is announced.

Closed polling venues:


Natadradave FEO shed

Delakado FEO shed

Nasinu Community Hall

Turagabeci Primary School

Londoni Primary School

Naivicula District School


Korotale Mandir

Namuaniwaqa Primary School

Rewasasa Community Hall

Mataso Primary School

Raiwasa Community Hall


Nausori Technical School

Veisama Sanatan Dharam Primary School

Naqeledamu Village School


Nukutouciwa Village School

Central Division:

Naisogo Settlement FEO shed

Shantiniketan Primary School

**Litia Cava also contributed to this story


More Stories