Fiji Time: 7:34 PM on Friday 24 November

Fiji Times Logo

/ Front page / Business

Awards night to recognise women's achievements

Filipe Naigulevu
Saturday, May 20, 2017

MONTHS of nominations, application drives and hard work in preparations towards the annual Women in Business (WIB) awards night culminates today at the Grand Pacific Hotel in Suva.

The event, usually an anticipated one filled with glitz and glamour, is organised annually by the WIB team to recognise several women's contribution in their respective spheres of the economic sector.

With the theme Pearls of Success, the awards night also honours Fiji's outstanding businesswomen and executive women who have demonstrated excellent leadership in their business or profession and in their service to the community.

With also an increased call for participation from women in the public sector, applications were then assessed when received and allocated to each of the categories by the WIB Council.

The files were then passed to and viewed independently by an eight-member judging panel and were sorted into three levels each keeping their own scores to themselves.

The score cards were then handed in to the secretariat where the top three scoring candidates in each category were contacted for an interview.

The finalists were scored against a list of questions and the highest scoring finalist was then nominated the winner of their category.

The event will be graced by Rosemary Vilgan, Telstra Australian Businesswoman of the Year, who is renowned for her innovative leadership.

Here are the final nominees for this year's WIB awards:

n Business Woman of the Year

Christine Badia - Maui Palms & Christine Badia Holdings

Janet Partridge - Modern Furniture

Kim Beddoes - Entertainment Pro Fiji Ltd/ Party & Event Hire

Manjula Dayal - Dayals Sawmillers Ltd

Maria Haynes - Dictrac Ltd

* Executive Woman of the Year

Litiana Loabuka - Fiji Sports Council

Jenny Seeto - Price Water House Coopers

Cathy Wong - FASANOC

Elenoa Biukoto - Vodafone Fiji Ltd

* Manager of the Year

Atelina Muavono - BSP Life Fiji Ltd

Josephine Ravai - Tower Insurance Fiji Ltd

Reshmi Singh - Motibhai Group of Companies

* Aspiring Business Woman of the Year

Krystle Stoddart Buksh - Kids First Fiji Ltd

Maria Ronna Luna - The Green House Studio

Vitila Vuniwaqa - Vees Organic Farm

* Public Sector - Manager of the Year

Laisa Bolalevu - Ministry of Public Enterprises

Louisa Tuimabualau - Maritime Safety Authority of Fiji

* Public Sector - Executive of the Year

Joann Young - Fiji Commerce Commission

Dr Yolinda Yok Yee Chan - Ministry of Industry, Trade and Tourism

Fiji Times Front Page Thumbnail

Kaila Front Page ThumbnailFiji Times & Kaila Frontpage PDF Downloads

Use the free Acrobat Reader to view.

Code Inward TTs Outward TTs
CAD 0.62090.6019
JPY 54.904351.9043
GBP 0.36550.3575
EUR 0.41180.3998
NZD 0.71450.6815
AUD 0.64330.6183
USD 0.49000.4730



Exchange Rate updated on 24th, November, 2017

Today's Most Read Stories

  1. A-G clears the air on welcome ceremony
  2. Australia will be tough, says Potter
  3. Fiji's costs covered by donors
  4. Final bid: Naiqama lays down RLWC challenge
  5. 5pc pay rise
  6. Transport card saga
  7. $1.2m mosque for West
  8. Tragic end to search for missing girl
  9. On to the next level
  10. Farmers wary of rain

Top Stories this Week

  1. Celebration planned to welcome COP23 delegates Tuesday (21 Nov)
  2. Mystery writings Thursday (23 Nov)
  3. The Crying Rock Sunday (19 Nov)
  4. Bid to win Tuesday (21 Nov)
  5. 'God first' Sunday (19 Nov)
  6. Fiji Bati requests for continued prayers Monday (20 Nov)
  7. Bati rest day Tuesday (21 Nov)
  8. Bati hopes to rise again Thursday (23 Nov)
  9. Bati's best Thursday (23 Nov)
  10. 'Testament of our defence' Sunday (19 Nov)