Fiji Time: 6:33 AM on Thursday 7 May

Fiji Times Logo

/ Front page / News

Chaudhry to appeal

Shalveen Chand
Wednesday, July 16, 2014

FORMER prime minister Mahendra Chaudhry was granted leave to appeal against his conviction and sentence for exchange control offences by the President of the Fiji Court of Appeal Justice William Calanchini.

The conviction presently disqualifies Chaudhry from contesting the forthcoming general election.

The Fiji Labour Party leader may now file an appeal in the Appeals Court against his conviction and sentence by the High Court.

The Judge pointed out some errors in the appeal documents and Chaudhry's lawyer must file an amended notice and grounds of appeal by 4 pm on Friday July 18.

The Court dismissed an application to stay Chaudhry's conviction and sentence pending the appeal.

A stay would have meant that Chaudhry's conviction and sentence were suspended until the appeal was decided and may have allowed him to contest the election.





Fiji Times Front Page Thumbnail

Kaila Front Page ThumbnailFiji Times & Kaila Frontpage PDF Downloads

Use the free Acrobat Reader to view.

Today's Most Read Stories

  1. Brutality claims
  2. Titles on hold
  3. Ryan shifts 7s focus
  4. Pacquiao faces $10.24m lawsuit
  5. Customary titles vacant
  6. Historic journey to the Times
  7. Clan disputes contribute to vacancies
  8. State clears air
  9. LTA seeks legal advice on QAMS for buses
  10. Centenarian laid to rest

Top Stories this Week

  1. Top five in Fiji Saturday (02 May)
  2. Indonesian authorities act 'cruel' Thursday (30 Apr)
  3. Homeless Sunday (03 May)
  4. FNPF CEO resigns Tuesday (05 May)
  5. Ministry suspends nurse Monday (04 May)
  6. MP faces court Thursday (30 Apr)
  7. Police receive names Friday (01 May)
  8. Khan wants to fight Mayweather Tuesday (05 May)
  9. Ministry reveals statistics Saturday (02 May)
  10. Brutality claims Wednesday (06 May)