Fiji Times Logo

Fiji Time: 3:44 PM on Friday 1 August

/ Front page / News

Beauties vye for beach title

Dawn Gibson
Wednesday, July 02, 2014

LAST week, the 10 finalists for this year's Miss World Fiji crown took a trip to the world famous Tavarua Island to be part of the beach beauty competition.

The competition, which is part of the overall judging criteria for the young women, meant they were given the opportunity to strut their beach modelling moves before a parade of cameras in the hope of adding points to their names.

"The girls modelled swimsuits especially designed for the event by Natalia Larson of Treehouse Boutique with poise and presentation — important in making an impression on the judges," explained Miss World national director Andhy Blake in a statement issued by the company.

The next competition is expected to be held at the Grand Pacific Hotel on Saturday, July 12.

"It will all come together on July 26 at the Pearl South Pacific Resort when Miss World Fiji will be crowned," Mr Blake said.


Fiji Times Front Page Thumbnail

Kaila Front Page ThumbnailFiji Times & Kaila Frontpage PDF Downloads

Use the free Acrobat Reader to view.

Today's Most Read Stories

  1. Born out in the cold
  2. Mother seeks compensation for loss
  3. LTA sticks to sticker
  4. Gifts up in flames
  5. Out of comfort zone
  6. $11m health relief
  7. Demand up
  8. Thousands visit agricultural show
  9. Firefighters ask for land
  10. FSC signs deal

Top Stories this Week

  1. Fijian woman jailed for stealing millions in NZ Sunday (27 Jul)
  2. Hero's tale Tuesday (29 Jul)
  3. 10 degrees lowest yet Monday (28 Jul)
  4. New United formation Monday (28 Jul)
  5. Million-dollar man Saturday (26 Jul)
  6. Misleading phone deals Monday (28 Jul)
  7. Iliesa Delana explains Wednesday (30 Jul)
  8. PM denies claims Thursday (31 Jul)
  9. Born out in the cold Friday (01 Aug)
  10. Protest over ads on cabs Thursday (31 Jul)