Fiji Time: 6:02 AM on Monday 24 November

Fiji Times Logo

/ Front page / News

Sports holiday plan

By MERE NALEBA
Tuesday, May 20, 2014

Update: 1:29PM A NATIONAL Sports Day public holiday has been endorsed by Cabinet for next year, with the Minister for Labour, Industrial Relations and Employment Jone Usamate and the Minister for Youth and Sports Viliame Naupoto set to announce the date soon.

Meanwhile, the government has approved nine other public holidays which will soon be gazetted once the date for the National Sports Day public holiday is announced. The nine public holidays are: New Years Day - Thursday, January 1; Prophet Mohammeds Birthday - Monday, January 5; Good Friday - Friday, April 3; Easter Saturday - Saturday, April 4; Easter Monday - Monday, April 6; Fiji Day - Saturday, October 10; Diwali - Wednesday,November 11; Christmas Day - Friday, December 25; and Boxing Day Holiday - Monday, December 28.



Fiji Times Front Page Thumbnail

Kaila Front Page ThumbnailFiji Times & Kaila Frontpage PDF Downloads

Use the free Acrobat Reader to view.

Today's Most Read Stories

  1. This team is much fitter than Gold Coast winning team says Ryan
  2. $50m more
  3. Sturridge out for the season
  4. Chaudhry describes budget as 'ambitious and unrealistic'
  5. Fijians win
  6. Boxing: Loss ends Cameron's career
  7. Three drown
  8. Fiji's return anticipated
  9. FCEF: Budget to help Fijians
  10. Alcohol duty up by 10pc

Top Stories this Week

  1. Tourist's death: Murder accused to appear in court Monday (17 Nov)
  2. Stabbed to death Tuesday (18 Nov)
  3. Prime Minister Modi arrives in Fiji Wednesday (19 Nov)
  4. Kill victim cried for help Tuesday (18 Nov)
  5. The man behind the scene Monday (17 Nov)
  6. Bula Mr Modi Wednesday (19 Nov)
  7. Man found unconscious, dies in hospital Monday (17 Nov)
  8. Modi-fied Thursday (20 Nov)
  9. Modi announces visa on arrival for Fiji people Wednesday (19 Nov)
  10. WHAT FIJI WILL GET Thursday (20 Nov)