Fiji Time: 6:58 AM on Sunday 26 October

Fiji Times Logo

/ Front page / News

Sports holiday plan

By MERE NALEBA
Tuesday, May 20, 2014

Update: 1:29PM A NATIONAL Sports Day public holiday has been endorsed by Cabinet for next year, with the Minister for Labour, Industrial Relations and Employment Jone Usamate and the Minister for Youth and Sports Viliame Naupoto set to announce the date soon.

Meanwhile, the government has approved nine other public holidays which will soon be gazetted once the date for the National Sports Day public holiday is announced. The nine public holidays are: New Years Day - Thursday, January 1; Prophet Mohammeds Birthday - Monday, January 5; Good Friday - Friday, April 3; Easter Saturday - Saturday, April 4; Easter Monday - Monday, April 6; Fiji Day - Saturday, October 10; Diwali - Wednesday,November 11; Christmas Day - Friday, December 25; and Boxing Day Holiday - Monday, December 28.



Fiji Times Front Page Thumbnail

Kaila Front Page ThumbnailFiji Times & Kaila Frontpage PDF Downloads

Use the free Acrobat Reader to view.

Today's Most Read Stories

  1. Siblings in shock
  2. Koroi ready to help Fijian scrum during Europe tour
  3. Farewell Duke
  4. In the dark
  5. Forum lifts Fiji ban
  6. Group of companies hold inaugural Pinktober celebrations
  7. Taskforce rakes in $500k in rent arrears
  8. Separating fact from myth
  9. Inglis salutes new Kangaroos X-factor
  10. Relief for farmers

Top Stories this Week

  1. Death shocks family Monday (20 Oct)
  2. Inside Fiji sevens Tuesday (21 Oct)
  3. Budget overspent Wednesday (22 Oct)
  4. Public access Tuesday (21 Oct)
  5. Kepa's not weak Friday (24 Oct)
  6. Full pay while on leave Friday (24 Oct)
  7. Forgery suspect still in remand Tuesday (21 Oct)
  8. $20m in excess Wednesday (22 Oct)
  9. Ryan's fight to help 7s Friday (24 Oct)
  10. $11.9m in arrears Wednesday (22 Oct)