Fiji Time: 9:22 AM on Monday 25 May

Fiji Times Logo

/ Front page / News

Sports holiday plan

By MERE NALEBA
Tuesday, May 20, 2014

Update: 1:29PM A NATIONAL Sports Day public holiday has been endorsed by Cabinet for next year, with the Minister for Labour, Industrial Relations and Employment Jone Usamate and the Minister for Youth and Sports Viliame Naupoto set to announce the date soon.

Meanwhile, the government has approved nine other public holidays which will soon be gazetted once the date for the National Sports Day public holiday is announced. The nine public holidays are: New Years Day - Thursday, January 1; Prophet Mohammeds Birthday - Monday, January 5; Good Friday - Friday, April 3; Easter Saturday - Saturday, April 4; Easter Monday - Monday, April 6; Fiji Day - Saturday, October 10; Diwali - Wednesday,November 11; Christmas Day - Friday, December 25; and Boxing Day Holiday - Monday, December 28.



Fiji Times Front Page Thumbnail

Kaila Front Page ThumbnailFiji Times & Kaila Frontpage PDF Downloads

Use the free Acrobat Reader to view.

Today's Most Read Stories

  1. Villager questions equal distribution of lease money
  2. Size doesn't matter for Labalaba
  3. $200m bill
  4. US Mercy visits Fiji
  5. Erectile dysfunction
  6. Pageant kings take centre stage
  7. Uncertain future
  8. State to retain stakes
  9. Knows no limits
  10. Mining Act under review

Top Stories this Week

  1. Heroes of the night Friday (22 May)
  2. Dream run Tuesday (19 May)
  3. Tuwai wins top award Tuesday (19 May)
  4. Payout for team Thursday (21 May)
  5. Top cop foils robbery attempt Friday (22 May)
  6. Ratu Naiqama suspended Friday (22 May)
  7. Behind closed doors Tuesday (19 May)
  8. Probe on officials Wednesday (20 May)
  9. Sevens celebration Wednesday (20 May)
  10. Ratu Naiqama apologises Friday (22 May)