Fiji Time: 2:18 AM on Thursday 26 November

Fiji Times Logo

/ Front page / News

Sports holiday plan

Tuesday, May 20, 2014

Update: 1:29PM A NATIONAL Sports Day public holiday has been endorsed by Cabinet for next year, with the Minister for Labour, Industrial Relations and Employment Jone Usamate and the Minister for Youth and Sports Viliame Naupoto set to announce the date soon.

Meanwhile, the government has approved nine other public holidays which will soon be gazetted once the date for the National Sports Day public holiday is announced. The nine public holidays are: New Years Day - Thursday, January 1; Prophet Mohammeds Birthday - Monday, January 5; Good Friday - Friday, April 3; Easter Saturday - Saturday, April 4; Easter Monday - Monday, April 6; Fiji Day - Saturday, October 10; Diwali - Wednesday,November 11; Christmas Day - Friday, December 25; and Boxing Day Holiday - Monday, December 28.

Fiji Times Front Page Thumbnail

Kaila Front Page ThumbnailFiji Times & Kaila Frontpage PDF Downloads

Use the free Acrobat Reader to view.

Code Inward TTs Outward TTs
CAD 0.62610.6071
JPY 58.229955.2299
GBP 0.31160.3036
EUR 0.44190.4299
NZD 0.72470.6917
AUD 0.65280.6278
USD 0.47310.4561



Exchange Rate updated on 25th November 2015

Today's Most Read Stories

  1. Left for dead
  2. MV Suilven sinks
  3. Father of two sent to prison
  4. Waqa out of team
  5. 350 tenants to lease residential lots
  6. Lack of consultation disappoints Kumar
  7. Formalisation of iTaukei villages nears completion
  8. Pa's labour of love
  9. School rewards students
  10. Ministry prepares for ILO

Top Stories this Week

  1. A-G: 'Let us not insult our fathers' Thursday (19 Nov)
  2. Students score zero Thursday (19 Nov)
  3. Exit 'reason' Friday (20 Nov)
  4. Left for dead Wednesday (25 Nov)
  5. Village headman arrested Friday (20 Nov)
  6. MV Suilven sinks Wednesday (25 Nov)
  7. 8 years for raping man Tuesday (24 Nov)
  8. Minister defends PM's trip Friday (20 Nov)
  9. MV Suilven sinks in Suva Harbour Tuesday (24 Nov)
  10. Friend indeed Monday (23 Nov)