Fiji Times Logo

Fiji Time: 6:44 PM on Thursday 17 April

/ Front page / News

Board to award loans

Siteri Sauvakacolo
Friday, December 27, 2013

HOTELIER and the president of the Fiji Hotel and Tourism Association, Dixon Seeto, has been elected to chair the Independent Tertiary Scholarship and Loans Board (TSLB).

The TSLB will oversee the new Tertiary Scholarship (TOPPERS) and Tertiary Education Loan Scheme (TELS) programs.

It will also award scholarships to hundreds and tuition loans to thousands of Fijian students along with living allowances.

A Ministry of Information statement issued yesterday said the other members of the board included USP vice chancellor Professor Rajesh Chandra, FNU vice chancellor Dr Ganesh Chand, University of Fiji's Professor Mahendra Kumar and Education permanent secretary Dr Brij Lal.

The statement said all scholarships and loan programs would be reorganised into one overall scheme, and the new independent board will administer the new scholarship and loan scheme efficiently, transparently, and with fairness.

All details for eligibility and application will be provided later.