Fiji Times Logo

Fiji Time: 12:58 AM on Thursday 24 April

/ Front page / Sport

Duwai picks up top Tuva award, sets 2014 mission

Jo Kunaluvea
Wednesday, December 25, 2013

NADROGA rugby utility backline player Aporosa Duwai was voted the best player for the Mr Mobile Tuva Rugby Club this year.

Duwai received his prize from Rick Angelo, the former Australian rugby league player who supported the club during the team's awards night at Semo Village lat Friday evening.

The 24-year-old rugger played seven games for Nadroga in the Digicel Cup this year and also came in as a replacement during the Farebrother-Sullivan Trophy challenge against Tailevu in October at the ANZ Stadium in Suva.

Only into his second year for Nadroga, he was part of the Fiji Warriors that toured Australia and New Zealand.

Duwai has set his target on donning either the Flying Fijians or national sevens jumper next season and despite being in the middle of the festive season, he has kept up with his training program.

"I have played for the Fiji Warriors but I will do my best to be part of either the Fiji sevens team or the Flying Fijians," said a determined Duwai.

He also stated his schoolboy hero was former Wallabies utility player Matt Giteau.

Team coach Venieli Naduvaco said he is confident Duwai had the calibre to stamp his mark in international rugby.

He said they were also grateful for Angelo's generosity in stepping up to help the team financially.

"On behalf of Tuva Rugby Club, I would like to thank Rick for his timely assistance and his assurance of continuing to support us for next season.

"I would also like to thank our supporters from the two villages of Semo and Nabau and hope they will continue to rally behind us next year," said Naduvaco.

Players and officials were treated to a grand feast provided by the two villages.

Players who received special prizes:

Best forward Josefa Nahalo; Most improved player Semiti Gaunvou; Most disciplined player Paul Navunisaravi; Best backline Alipate Vacerei; Outsatanding player Tevita Huna; Most points scored Kelevi Niunisavu; Youngest player Iliesa Mavehi; Official of the year Mosese Naciqo; Coach of the year Venieli Naduvaco; Best player of the year Aporosa Duwai.