Fiji Times Logo

Fiji Time: 7:35 AM on Sunday 20 April

/ Front page / Sport

Athletics rift

Rashneel Kumar
Friday, December 20, 2013

THERE is a rift among Athletics Fiji members on who is leading the association.

An interim committee headed by Doctor Ayoade Olatunbosun-Alakija has been formed following the Athletics Fiji executive committee meeting on Wednesday.

Dr Olatunbosun-Alakija in a statement said "Albert Miller is stood down as president following a vote of no confidence on July 3rd 2013.

"He has been president since 2010. He remains on the committee in his capacity as a member of Oceania Athletics Association resident in Fiji."

However, when Times Sports contacted Miller yesterday, the former national athlete said he remained the president of Athletics Fiji.

"As far as I know that (the presidency) has to be decided by the members in the special AGM."

Miller said there was no Annual General Meeting held this year.

Dr Olatunbosun-Alakija said Athletics Fiji shall, until the next AGM in March 2014, be governed in accordance to the association's 2008 constitution.

She said a new comprehensive constitution will be drafted by the Constitutional Review Sub-Committee and circulated to the applicable parties for comment prior to being presented at the next AGM.

The interim committee will also serve until the AGM next year.

"As it states the next order of business is to correct the errors of the past and ensure that there is a constitution in place which is properly passed and legal moving forward," Dr Olatunbosun-Alakija said.

"The focus now shifts to the athletes themselves as they are the reason we exist as an association and our main concern needs to be development of the sport and athlete welfare."

Interim committee

Acting President: Dr. Ayoade Olatunbosun-Alakija; Treasurer: Usaia Tunaulu; Secretary: Maciu Koroitamana; Chief Technical Official: Diana Lewis; Chief Development Official: Roy Ravana; Athletes' Representative: Foto Ledua; Women's Representative: Litia Senibulu