Fiji Times Logo

Fiji Time: 3:00 PM on Friday 18 April

/ Front page / Sport

Teams finalised

Rashneel Kumar
Tuesday, December 17, 2013

CRICKET Fiji has finalised the local teams for the Easter tournament which will be played next year.

West I, Suva Warriors and Suva Crusaders alongside Cowaramup Cricket Club from Western Australia and Western Suburbs District Cricket Club from Brisbane will be competing in this prestigious tournament.

The local teams were supposed to face off in a qualifying event yesterday to determine their place in the Easter tournament.

However, with the Western Cricket Association only fielding one team, Cricket Fiji cancelled the qualifiers confirming Suva Warriors, Suva Crusaders and West I for the tournament.

Meanwhile Cricket Fiji's national women's competition will be held on Friday at Albert Park.

Four teams will contest six Twenty20 games, with the overall winner to be crowned.

Cricket Fiji's high performance manager, Joe Rika, said the main aim of the tournament was to select a squad of 13 players who will compete in all of Cricket Fiji's under-age tournaments next year.

"This will prepare a base of female cricketers with depth, eligible for selection for the 2015 South Pacific Games in Port Moresby," he added.

Fixtures: Lomary- Suva 2 - 8.30am, Albert Park 1, West-Suva 1 - 8.30am, Albert Park 2, West-Suva 2 - 11.30am, Albert Park 1, Suva 1-Lomary - 11.30am, Albert Park 2, Suva 1-Suva 2 - 2.30pm, Albert Park 1, West 1-Lomary - 2.30pm, Albert Park 2