Fiji Times Logo

Fiji Time: 3:06 AM on Tuesday 22 April

/ Front page / Sport

Titans take Perpetual Cup

Arin Kumar
Sunday, December 15, 2013

THE BSP Titans are the new holders of the Perpetual Cup in the Suva Cricket Association.

This was after they beat holders Novotel VICC by 24 runs at the Albert Park in Suva yesterday.

BSP batted first and lost nine wickets for 149 runs in their allotted 20 overs.

VICC attempted to chase down the score but fell short and were 10 for 125 in 19.3 overs.

Former national rep Rukesh Patel was the top scorer for BSP as he made 49 runs.

Their top bowler was Taniela Lee Waqa who claimed three wickets in the match.

Veteran Joji Bulabalavu was the top scorer for VICC with 53 runs but it was not enough.

BSP captain Omid Saberi said they stuck to their game-plan and emerged victorious in the match.

"They bowled well and almost got us out early but we managed to get 149 runs which was a good score to defend," he said.

"When they batted, they had a couple of good partnerships that threatened to take the game away from us.

"But we stuck to the game-plan, managed to reel them in and eventually got them all out and it was a good win for us."

This is the first time ever that BSP have won the Perpetual Cup and they are looking forward to keeping it till the end of the season.

"Its not easy to win trophies and its not easy to defend them but we are going to work hard and try and keep it for the rest of the season."