Fiji Times Logo

Fiji Time: 12:59 AM on Thursday 24 April

/ Front page / Sport

Unchanged team

Wednesday, December 11, 2013

JOHANNESBURG - South Africa has named an unchanged 15-man squad for two Test matches against India later this month.

South Africa, the leading team on the International Cricket Council rankings, have not been beaten in a series since 2009.

Both their last two series against India, away in 2009/10 and at home the following season, were drawn.

In their most recent series, against Pakistan in the United Arab Emirates in October, South Africa lost the first Test in Abu Dhabi but bounced back with an innings win in the second and final Test in Dubai to share the series.

"We were very happy with the performance of the Proteas in the second Test match at Dubai," said Cricket South Africa selection convener Andrew Hudson, "and we see no need to change something that is operating well".

The matches will be played in Johannesburg from December 18 to 22 and Durban from December 26 to 30.

South African squad:

Graeme Smith (capt), AB de Villiers (vice-capt, wkt), Hashim Amla, JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Dean Elgar, Imran Tahir, Jacques Kallis, Rory Kleinveldt, Morne Morkel, Alviro Petersen, Robin Peterson, Vernon Philander, Dale Steyn, Thami Tsolekile (wkt)