Fiji Times Logo

Fiji Time: 8:39 PM on Thursday 24 April

/ Front page / Sport

Champs in tough pool

Arin Kumar
Thursday, December 05, 2013

DEFENDING champions of the National Club Championship, 4R Electrical has been drawn in the same pool as their fellow Ba club GM.

The Kriz Signs-sponsored competition will be played in two divisions first before the national play-offs.

With the Western Division having two pools of four teams and the fact that only three teams from the division will advance to the next stage according to current rules, it seems highly likely that only one team from Ba might qualify for the national competition.

Joining the two teams in the pool are the teams from Nadi and Nadroga which have not been confirmed yet by the two districts.

Fiji Football Association chief executive officer Bob Kumar said the only team from Nadi confirmed was Blues.

He said Lautoka, Nadi and Nadroga were given time until yesterday afternoon to confirm their team.

"Since these districts have booked places for their teams, those teams that do qualify must compete," Kumar said.

"If the teams don't compete, we will take disciplinary action against them and they will lose their games by default."

Meanwhile, no clubs from the Northern Division would be part of the NCC this year.

"We had told them to play but they did not and I think because of monetary issues, they didn't have a competition.

"But we would encourage them to compete next year because playing against other clubs helps to grow player base and it also gives players the opportunity to showcase their talent."

Games in the Western Division will be played on Saturday and Sunday at Govind Park in Ba while, the Central Division will be played on Sunday at Buckhurst and Bidesi parks in Laucala Bay.

The national play-offs will take place the following weekend in Nadi where the winner will walk away with $3000 and the runner-up will get $1500.

Meanwhile, Kriz Signs handed over a cheque worth $8000 to Fiji FA yesterday.

Western Division:

P1: Nadi 2, GM Ba, 4 R Electrical, Nadroga 1;

P2: Lautoka 2, Lautoka 1, Nadroga 2, Blues Nadi

Central/Eastern Division:

Pool 1: League FC (Navua), Lokia FC (Tailevu Naitasiri), Northern Sharks (Lami);

Pool 2: Rangers (Lami), Lokia United (Rewa), Civic (Suva);

Pool 3: Friends Utd (Nasinu), Raralevu Central (Tailevu North), North Pole (Suva);

Pool 4: United (Rewa), Lincoln (Nasinu), Combine (Navua).