Fiji Time: 6:34 PM on Tuesday 21 April

Fiji Times Logo

/ Front page / Sport

2013 Wellington 7s final squad

Friday, February 01, 2013

THE coaches of all 16 international men's sides have declared their final squads of 12 for the Hertz Sevens in Wellington on 1-2 February, round 4 of the HSBC Sevens World Series.

Former World Series champion Lolo Lui returns to the Samoan side after a lengthy spell out, while last season's top try-scorer Mat Turner has recovered from the ankle injury he picked up on the Gold Coast to take his place in the England squad. Australia recall several key players, Gold Coast champions Fiji blood another five newcomers in this World Cup season and Canada make a late change with Justin Douglas coming into the side.


New Zealand hand debuts to Gillies Kaka and Rocky Khan, who is one of five Fijians in the squad and the first Indian Fijian to play for New Zealand.

Team: Luke Masirewa, Tim Mikkelson, Belgium Tuatagaloa, D J Forbes, Lote Raikabula, Tomasi Cama, Sam Dickson, Gillies Kaka *, David Raikuna, Rocky Khan *, Kurt Baker, Ben Lam

USA name an exciting squad to be captained by Mat Hawkins, featuring the recall of Blaine Scully and Andrew Duratalo and the sprinter Carlin Isles.

Team: Carlin Isles, Nick Edwards, Andrew Durutalo, Shalom Suniula, Zach Test, Matt Hawkins, Folau Niua, Jack Halalilo, Luke Hume, Blaine Scully, Colin Hawley, Maka Unufe

England will be hoping that the return of last season's top try-scorer Mat Turner can help boost their current position of 13th in the Series standings.

Team: Jeff Williams, Chris Brightwell, Rob Vickerman, Dan Norton, James Rodwell, Dan Bibby, John Brake, Tom Powell, Marcus Watson, Christian Lewis-Pratt, Mat Turner, Sam Edgerley

Spain hand one debut to Julen Goia Iriberri and include the season's top try-scorer, Pedro Martin.

Team: Ignacio Martin, Carlos Blanco, Javier Canosa, Pablo Feijoo, Facundo Lavino, Martin Heredia, Pedro Martin, Juan Cano, Angel Lopez, Glen Lewis Rolls, Julen Goia Iriberri *, Marcos Poggi


Currently second in the Series standings, France hand a debut to Stephen Parez and welcome back fit-again flyers, Renaud Delmas and Julien Candelon.

Team: Vincent Deniau, Manoel Dall Igna, Jean Baptiste Mazoue, Terry Bouhraoua, Paul Albaladejo, Stephen Parez *, Renaud Delmas, Jonathan Laugel, Steeve Barry, Julien Candelon, Jean Baptiste Gobelet, Vincent Inigo

Argentina hand debuts to Javier Rojas and Matias Orlando and will be looking to skipper Nicolas Bruzzone to lead the charge as by far the most experienced member of the squad.

Team: Javier Rojas *, Nicolas Bruzzone, Martin Chiappesoni, Anibal Panceyra Garrido, Santiago Craig, Matias Orlando *, Ramiro Moyano, Jeronimo de la Fuente, Facundo Panceyra Garrido, Joaquin Diaz Bonilla, Agustin Migliore, Matias Moroni

Kenya coach Mike Friday welcomes back pace men Oscar Ouma and Collins Injera.

Team: Davis Chenge, Oscar Ouma, Horace Otieno, Fabian Olando, Philip Wamae, Dennis Ombachi, Biko Adema, Andrew Amonde, Michael Wanjala, Oscar Ayodi, Collins Injera, Willy Ambaka

Regional qualifier Tonga hand out four debuts as they gear up for the World Series pre-qualifier in Hong Kong in March

Team: Feofaaki Holoia *, Paula Kata, Kilifi Latu, Josateki Veikune, Fautasi Mau *, Saia Palei, Tevita Halaifonua, Samisoni Hafoka, Siale Talakai, Manu Tuifua *, Taniela Kilioni, Titali Mau *


South Africa are still without Kyle Brown, Cecil Afrika and Branco du Preez. Skipper Frankie Horne and Chris Dry will lead the forward assault, while Paul Treu hands debuts to Justin Geduld and Seabelo Senatla.

Team: Chris Dry, Philip Snyman, Frankie Horne, Warren Whiteley, Cornal Hendricks, Pieter Engelbrecht, Justin Geduld *, Stephan Dippenaar, Paul Delport, Cheslin Kolbe, Tshotsho Mbovane, Seabelo Senatla *

Wales welcome back Richard Smith into a settled looking side, which features one debutant in Luke Morgan.

Team: Will Thomas, Rhys Jones, Lee Williams, Luke Morgan *, Alex Webber, James Davies, Will Price, Rhys Shellard, Richard Smith, Richie Pugh, Adam Thomas, Jason Harries

Samoa welcome back a former Wellington Cup final match-winner and World Series champion in Lolo Lui and hand a debut to Anthony Tailua.

Team: Samoa Afa Aiono, Lio Lolo, Levi Asifa'amatala, Reupena Levasa, Robert Lilomaiava, Lolo Lui, Alatasi Tupou, Sani Niue, Patrick Faapale, Faatoina Autagavaia, Tulolo Tulolo, Anthony Tailua *

Canada are one of six nations to hand out no debuts, but do recall key men and Rugby World Cup stars in Conor Trainor and Taylor Paris, while the walking wounded in South Africa have all recovered. Justin Douglas a late replacement for Jeff Hassler.

Team: Tyler Ardron, Thyssen de Goede, Nanyak Dala, John Moonlight, Conor Trainor, Sean Duke, Philip Mack, Justin Douglas, Nathan Hirayama, Ciaran Hearn, Harry Jones, Taylor Paris


Portugal are another side with no debutants, but will sorely miss usual captain Frederico Oliveira, Pedro Leal and Aderito Esteves, all of whom have stayed in Europe for a key Rugby World Cup qualifier against Romania.

Team: Martim Bettencourt, Duarte Moreira, David Mateus, Diogo Miranda, Antonio Vieira de Almeida, Luis Sousa, Francisco Vieira de Almeida, Nuno Sousa Guedes, Pedro Bettencourt, Jose Vareta, Joao Lino, Miguel Lucas

Gold Coast champions Fiji hand out a further five debuts to add to the 14 newcomers across the first three rounds.

Team: Nemani Nagusa, Ulaiyasi Lawavou, Manueli Lagai, Setefano Cakau, Jone Vota *, Joji Baleviani Raqamate, Ilai Tinai, Josua Tuisova *, Jasa Veremalua *, Manasa Nayagi *, Benedito Masilevu *, Samisoni Viriviri

Australia coach Michael O'Connor still cannot recall injured captain Ed Jenkins, but Shannon Walker, Allan Fa'alava'au, Jesse Parahi and Lewis Holland do return. Cameron Clarke was a late withdrawal from the squad.

Team: Tom Cusack *, Jesse Parahi, Sean McMahon, Will Miller, Jordan Tuapou, Con Foley, Allan Fa'alava'au, Peter Lee, Ben Adams *, Lewis Holland, Pama Fou, Shannon Walker

Former Scotland Sevens coach Stephen Gemmell returns to lead Scotland, who currently lie 15th in the Series standings. Struan Dewar is one player welcomed back to an otherwise settled looking squad.

Team: Chris Dean, Michael Fedo, Struan Dewar, James Johnstone, Colin Gregor, Mark Robertson, Andrew Turnbull, Colin Shaw, Scott Riddell, Michael Maltman, James Fleming, Russell Weir

After three of the nine rounds in the 2012/13 HSBC Sevens World Series, defending champions and Wellington hosts New Zealand lead the standings on 60 points, France, 46, champions Fiji, 44, South Africa, 41 and Samoa, 39.

Fiji Times Front Page Thumbnail

Kaila Front Page ThumbnailFiji Times & Kaila Frontpage PDF Downloads

Use the free Acrobat Reader to view.

Today's Most Read Stories

  1. The murder of a schoolteacher
  2. Unclaimed body laid to rest
  3. Winner pulls out
  4. $30k win for couple
  5. Wife wished cancer for hubby
  6. Fisherman in hospital after collision at sea
  7. Project funding
  8. Chiefly family to decide on Tui Bua position
  9. FEA shares on offer
  10. $10m music

Top Stories this Week

  1. Gang rape Monday (20 Apr)
  2. It's a lie Wednesday (15 Apr)
  3. Bloody Sunday Monday (20 Apr)
  4. Death shatters dream Monday (20 Apr)
  5. Fatal trip Thursday (16 Apr)
  6. A fair trial, says Singh Wednesday (15 Apr)
  7. Ro Teimumu makes a stand Wednesday (15 Apr)
  8. Son's death shocks family, police investigate brother Saturday (18 Apr)
  9. Wish for son's death Monday (20 Apr)
  10. Five years in exile Friday (17 Apr)